You can face long-term repercussions if you are convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) in California. DUI convictions can lead to fines and jail time. They can also impact your ability to work, especially if you want to get into ride-sharing to make some extra money.
In fact, you may not even be allowed to drive for Uber or Lyft with a DUI on your record in California. Go over regulations tied to ride-sharing and DUI convictions here with the Simmrin Law Group. Call us at (310) 997-4688 to learn more about the best way to handle a DUI accusation.
General Driver Requirements for Uber and Lyft
Companies like Uber and Lyft check on a driver’s history before allowing the driver to work for them. Both Uber and Lyft will perform a:
- Background check
- Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) check
According to driver requirements issued by the companies, you may not be allowed to drive for Uber or Lyft if you were previously convicted of:
- Any disqualifying violent crime
- A sexual offense
- An act of terror
- Certain fraud-related offenses
- Certain drug-related offenses
- Theft or property damage offenses
Additionally, around the country, Uber and Lyft will not work with drivers with a conviction for:
- One major moving violation within the previous three years
- Four minor moving violations within the previous three years
- One DUI (either alcohol or drug-related) within the previous seven years
- One major driving-related violation within the previous seven years
For a free legal consultation, call (310) 928-9347
California’s Regulations on Uber and Lyft Drivers
Thus far we have discussed the regulations Uber and Lyft use for drivers around the country. California’s regulations on ride-sharing drivers are harsher than the national standard. Drivers in California may not drive for Uber or Lyft if they were convicted of a DUI within the last 10 years.
Drivers must wait longer to drive for Uber or Lyft in California because the state maintains DUI records for 10 years. After this 10-year period passes, the DUI charges will no longer be counted against you. However, this does not necessarily mean you will be able to drive for a ride-sharing company 10 years after a DUI.
Some DUIs in California are prosecuted as felonies. Uber and Lyft will generally not hire convicted felons, regardless of how long ago the offense occurred. Therefore, a DUI conviction could prevent you from ever working for Uber or Lyft in some circumstances.
Resolve DUI Charges to Drive for Uber or Lyft
Any DUI conviction in California can prevent you from driving for Uber or Lyft. However, a criminal defense lawyer in Los Angeles may be able to help you resolve your charges without a conviction. You can call (310) 997-4688 to speak to a professional about your legal options. You may be able to drive for a ride-sharing company if your lawyer can:
Get Your Charges Dismissed
Sometimes, DUI charges in California are dismissed. This may occur if your lawyer can dispute the evidence against you, or if a lawyer can prove that you were stopped by a police officer without due cause. You will likely be questioned about a dismissed charge, but you could still drive for a ride-sharing company.
Resolve Your Charges in Court
A DUI lawyer in Los Angeles can fight a DUI charge for you in the courtroom. If you are declared not guilty of a DUI, then it will not remain on your record and you will be able to move forward with any career in the state.
Click to contact our Criminal Defense Lawyers today
Handle Past DUI Charges in the State of California
You may have a DUI conviction in your past that is making it difficult for you to work for either Uber or Lyft. You may be able to resolve this charge by seeking an expungement of your charges. Generally, you can only seek an expungement if you served out all penalties associated with your charges.
A lawyer can help you get your DUI charges expunged, or retroactively dismissed. At this point, your criminal charges would be sealed. However, the DUI charges would still show up on your DMV record, which can be viewed by Lyft and Uber.
Find out if the expungement of a DUI charge is right for you by contacting the Simmrin Law Group now.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Get Legal Help if You Have a DUI on Your Record
You are not generally allowed to drive for Uber or Lyft with a DUI on your record within a 10-year period in California. Protect your career options by getting help right away with DUI charges. Contact the Simmrin Law Group to start building a defense. Contact us by calling (310) 997-4688 or completing our online contact form.
Get answers to your legal questions with a FREE case evaluation from our DUI lawyers in Los Angeles.