You may want to see your police report if you are charged with driving under the influence (DUI) in California. Many drivers are curious to see exactly what’s said in their police report. Use this article to review several methods you can use to get your DUI police report.
The professionals at the Simmrin Law Group can help you handle DUI charges with or without your police report. Find out more about how we can build a strong defense to your DUI charges by calling (310) 997-4688.
Method #1: Ask at the Police Station
You can obtain your DUI police report in California in several ways. The simplest option often involves going to your police department and asking for a copy. However, you should be aware that police officers can legally refuse to provide you with your police report if you ask for it.
Legally, you are not supposed to be given documents including information about witnesses to the DUI charge or victims of a DUI accident. This means that you could be denied a copy of the police report if it contains:
- Phone numbers
- Contact information
You may only be allowed to get a copy of your police report if this information has been blacked out, or redacted.
For a free legal consultation, call (310) 928-9347
Method #2: Attend a Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) Hearing
Drivers arrested for a DUI in California can request a hearing with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) within 10 days of their arrest. It is generally recommended that you ask for this hearing no matter what, as failure to ask for the hearing allows the DMV to automatically suspend your license after 30 days.
A DMV hearing also allows you to request your police report. In order to obtain a police report through the DMV hearing, your lawyer will ask for a copy of the discovery. The discovery in a DUI case can include:
- Your police report
- Lab reports on your blood alcohol content (BAC) tests
- Other legal information related to your case
A criminal defense lawyer in Los Angeles can help you handle a DMV hearing after a DUI arrest. Take steps to preserve your driving privileges and access your police report by calling the Simmrin Law Group at (310) 997-4688 right now.
Method #3: Attend Your DUI Arraignment
Finally, you can acquire a copy of the police report for your DUI at your arraignment hearing. Arraignment hearings are typically the first hearing you will have in court for a DUI charge. You are generally required to attend your arraignment hearing, so you should be there to get your police report in any case.
Note that arraignment hearings are important for a number of reasons. In addition to providing you and your DUI lawyer with your police report, the prosecution may give you copies of lab reports and other important documents. Additionally, at your arraignment:
- You will be told the charges you are facing
- You will have a chance to plead guilty, not guilty, or no contest
You should be aware that failing to attend an arraignment hearing for a DUI charge can have serious legal consequences. You could be held in contempt of court if you do not attend your hearing. The judge could even put out a bench warrant for your arrest, so you should take this hearing seriously, even if you already acquired your DUI police report.
Click to contact our Criminal Defense Lawyers today
Get Professional Help Acquiring Your DUI Police Report
We’ve discussed three methods that you can use to get your DUI police report in California. Securing this document can be easier if you work with a DUI lawyer in Los Angeles. The team at the Simmrin Law Group understands the best steps to take to secure your DUI police report.
We also know what it takes to build a strong defense for clients facing DUI charges. We can advise you every step of the way as you navigate California’s legal system. Allow us to:
- Help you during interviews with prosecutors
- Take steps to block evidence against you
- Work to get your charges reduced or dismissed
- Stand up for you in and out of the courtroom
You can reach out to us today to get help handling DUI charges in California.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Speak to a Lawyer About Getting a DUI Police Report
You can get a DUI police report by visiting the police department, requesting a DMV hearing, or going to your DUI arraignment. Find out more about the uses of your DUI police report with the Simmrin Law Group. Call us at (310) 997-4688 or complete our online contact form so we can focus on your legal needs.
Get the information you need after an arrest by contacting our DUI lawyers in Los Angeles for a FREE consultation.