You can get your driving record in California in several ways: by mail, in person, or online. There are fees to be aware of, and the process can look slightly different depending on how you request your driving record.
If you order your record online, you will have one chance to print it out after you pay the fee. You will also need to create an online account with the California DMV and have a credit card or bank account ready to pay any fees.
Why Do You Need a Copy of Your Driving Record?
Requesting a driving record is more common and valuable than you may think. You will need your driving record for personal reasons and some legal reasons. You will need an accurate driving record for court proceedings when purchasing a new insurance policy and to fulfill an employment requirement.
The insurance company will heavily base your insurance rates on your driving record. While the reasons for requesting driving records vary, it is essential to know how to access these records. Some personal reasons drivers stay abreast of the information on their driving records are to prevent identity theft, expungement options, and ensure no errors.
Other parties, such as an attorney, insurance company, or employer, can request these records.
For a free legal consultation, call (310) 896-2723
Can You Request Another Person’s Driving Record?
In certain situations, you can request another person’s driving record. The most common cases requiring you to request another person’s record are establishing prior vehicle ownership or when a deceased family member has passed away. When ordering a driving record for a deceased person, you will need to be an immediate family member and provide the DMV with a copy of the person’s death certificate.
You will need to use the form Request for Record Information (INF 70) and pay a $5 fee for the record request. You can only request another person’s record through the mail.
What Is the Cost of a Driving Record?
Getting a driving record will have different costs depending on how you submit a request. There are two possible fees. When you request a record electronically through the state website, you will need to pay $2 instead of when ordering the record in person or by mail, resulting in a $5 fee.
Currently, there are no other associated fees with requesting a driving record.
Click to contact our Criminal Defense Lawyers today
What Does a Driving Record Show?
California currently provides records with information for three, seven, or ten years. You will see departmental actions, accidents, points, and citations within the record.
Your driving records will show your legal driving status and if it is suspended or revoked. It will also be on the driving record if you need to pay a reinstatement fine. As you might assume, the driving record will include your personal information like your social security number, current address, and name.
If you have had a DUI in California, that will also appear on your driving record.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
What if the Information on the Driving Record Is Inaccurate?
Mistakes happen, and while there are solutions to these mistakes, they can hinder your future. When you request a driving record, you must review whether the information is accurate and if there are any inaccuracies. You can fix an issue by completing and submitting a Report of Incorrect Record Form (DL 207) or a Report of Incorrect Driver Record Traffic Collision Form DL 207A.
You can also correct information by submitting an Abstract/Document Error Form DL 157. Depending on the inaccuracy, you will need to use different forms. If unsure which form is best for incorrect information, you must contact the DMV.
What Can I Do if There Are Points on My Driving Record?
When you commit a driving infraction or are in an accident, the DMV will get noticed, and you will get driving points on your record, depending on the violation. Points in California stay on a driving record for three or ten years. That is a long time to be affected by a mistake.
Minor traffic violations usually result in one point. A car accident or license suspension is also one point. These incidents stay on your record for three years and then fall off.
Any situation that results in two or more points will stay on your record for ten years. Infractions that result in two points include reckless driving, hit and run, DUIs, driving over 100 mph, and driving with a revoked or suspended license. Additionally, having too many points on your record results in a driver’s license suspension.
Points for Minor Infractions
If you have violation points on your driving record for a minor violation, you can remove them by going to traffic school. If you continue to get points, the state will inform you that you are close to reaching a license suspension.
Another way to avoid or remove points would be to contact a California traffic violation lawyer to discuss your options. Your last option is to wait three or ten years for the points to fall off.
What Are Common Traffic Violations?
When drivers hear the term traffic violation, they are under the impression that it is a serious offense and that a driver must have done something extremely egregious. The most common traffic violations include speeding, driving without insurance, CDL tickets, red-light camera tickets, and reckless driving. Some of these infractions are subjective and have various defenses available.
You will need to discuss your legal options with a California traffic violation lawyer to see how these infractions will affect your driving record and future.
Call a Criminal Defense Attorney Today
No two violations are the same, and you need a lawyer who can find the best route for your needs. A lawyer can help you with a traffic violation in several ways. They can look for errors with your ticket or look into the possibility of driving schools.
You might need to do community service to show the judge that you are improving your driving habits. When a judge has proof that a person is taking accountability for their actions and taking steps to remedy them, they will be more willing to reduce or drop your charges.
Call or text (310) 896-2723 or complete a Free Case Evaluation form