In some cases, winning a case for driving under the influence (DUI) is only the first step in getting your life back-to-normal after an arrest. You may need to take further actions to get back your driving privileges, for example.
Use this article to review the next steps after winning your DUI case in California. The professionals at the Simmrin Law Group can help you focus on all of your legal needs. You can call us at (310) 896-2723 to get help at any point after a DUI arrest.
Assess Your Situation After a DUI Case
Sometimes, successfully resolving a DUI charge in California can allow you to immediately return to your day-to-day life. You may not need to take any extra steps to get back your driver’s license or your vehicle, depending upon how early you sought help from a criminal defense lawyer in Los Angeles.
Your lawyer can help you review any steps you might need to take after you win your DUI case. In some cases, you may need to:
- Get back your bail payment
- Reinstate your driving privileges
- Get your vehicle out of impound
For a free legal consultation, call (310) 896-2723
Bail Payments After a DUI Case in California
Drivers arrested for a DUI in California are often released on bail within a day of their arrest. Bail is a fee that you pay the court. It serves as a promise that you will attend all relevant hearings for your case. You will receive this money back if:
- You attend all your hearings AND
- You win your DUI case OR
- You lose your DUI case
Your bond should be discharged when you are found not guilty if you paid the fee in cash. If you paid a bail agent and received a surety bond, you will not get back the fee you paid. However, in this situation, you will not end up paying for the entire bail amount. You can call (310) 896-2723 if you have additional questions about bail payments and DUI cases.
Getting Back Your License After Winning Your DUI Case
The Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) may suspend your license after a DUI arrest and before you are convicted. In fact, the DMV can automatically suspend your license 30 days after your arrest. Note that you may be able to prevent this suspension by requesting a DMV hearing within 10 days of your arrest.
If you do not request a DMV hearing – or the hearing is not resolving in your favor – your license can be suspended. However, you can get your license back if you win your DUI case by:
- Securing a “Not Guilty” verdict
- Getting your charges dismissed for a lack of evidence
- Having the prosecution drop your case
Drivers who secure a Not Guilty verdict can bring documentation of their verdict to the DMV. At this point, your license should be reinstated. If your charges were dismissed or dropped, you will likely need to complete another hearing with the DMV. You have one year from the time of your arrest to request this new hearing.
A lawyer can help you handle any DMV hearing, including one after you win your DUI case.
DUI Cases and Impounded Vehicles in California
A law enforcement officer can impound your vehicle after you are arrested for a DUI in California. In many situations, you can get your vehicle out of the impound lot before you win your DUI case. However, you may not be able to free your vehicle if you were not released on bail before your trial.
Once you are free to retrieve your vehicle, you should move as quickly as possible. You will face charges for each day your vehicle is impounded. To get back your vehicle, you will need to head to the impound lot with:
- Your driver’s license
- Payment for impound fees
- Proof of insurance
- Proof of registration
Your vehicle will only be released from the impound lot to the registered owner. This means that if you are kept in jail without bail, someone else cannot go get your vehicle for you.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Speak to a Lawyer About Steps to Take After Your DUI Case
You may need to take several steps after winning your DUI case in California. The Simmrin Law Group can help if you need to get back your license or your vehicle. We can also help you understand bail payments for DUI charges. Find out more right now with a FREE case evaluation.
Reaching our DUI lawyers in Los Angeles is easy. Call us at (310) 896-2723 or fill out our online contact form to get professional help on your side.