Driving while high (or driving under the influence of drugs) is a criminal offense in California. You may hear this criminal act called a DUID, or driving under the influence of marijuana. Regardless of the term used to describe a DUID, the penalties for a conviction can be very severe.
Use this article to review the penalties for driving high in California. Consider the impact of a DUID conviction on your life with the Simmrin Law Group. Focus on building a defense for DUID charges by calling us at (310) 997-4688.
Basic Facts About DUID Penalties
Drivers can face DUI charges if they drive while under the influence of marijuana in California. You should be aware that all DUI charges are considered priorable. This means that each time a driver is convicted, the penalties will increase.
Penalties for driving high in California can include:
- Jail or prison time
- License suspensions
- DUI school
Let’s go into these penalties in more depth now.
For a free legal consultation, call (310) 896-2723
Jail Time for Driving High in California
A conviction for driving high can result in jail time in the state of California. The amount of jail time a driver faces often depends upon how many previous DUI convictions they have on their record. Generally, a driver can face:
- Six months of jail time for a first offense
- One year of jail time for a second or third offense
Note that a fourth DUI offense can be treated as a felony in California. Felony convictions for driving high can lead to three years of prison time. If a driver hurts or kills someone else while committing a DUID, the amount of time they spend in prison can increase greatly.
Fines for Driving High in California
The fines for a DUI conviction often include court fees and other costs that lead drivers to pay the court system thousands of dollars. A driver convicted of driving high could expect to pay:
- Up to $2,000 for a first offense
- Up to $2,500 for a second offense
- Up to $3,000 for a third offense
Drivers may end up paying fines of up to $5,000 if someone was injured in a DUID accident. Additionally, the driver could have to pay restitution payments to the injured party in this situation. Find out more about fines for DUIDs by contacting a criminal defense lawyer in Los Angeles by calling (310) 997-4688.
Click to contact our Criminal Defense Lawyers today
License Suspensions for Driving High in California
Drivers can get their licenses suspended if they are convicted of driving high in California. Standard license suspensions after a DUID conviction includes:
- Six-month suspension for a first offense
- Two-year suspension for a second offense
- Three-year revocation for a third offense
Note that drivers can typically apply for a restricted license after a set period of time following a conviction for driving high. However, drivers may have to wait a year or more to request a restricted license following their conviction. A driver may have their license revoked for five years for a felony conviction, without the option to obtain a restricted license at all.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
DUI School for Driving High in California
The court system in California can order drivers convicted of driving high to attend DUI school. The amount of time drivers have to spend in DUI school can depend upon the type of DUI charge they are facing. Drivers can expect to spend three-to-nine months in DUI school for a first offense.
Subsequent misdemeanor DUI convictions can lead to 18-to-30 months in DUI school. Felony DUI convictions are more likely to lead to the full 30 months of time in DUI school in California.
Legal Options to Handle Charges of Driving High
As you can see, the results of a conviction for driving high in California can be incredibly serious. Fortunately, you can get help handling DUID charges by reaching out to the professionals at the Simmrin Law Group. Our DUI lawyers in Los Angeles are here to help you now. They can work to:
- Get your charges reduced
- Get your charges dismissed
- Bring you a successful verdict in court
Focus on improving your odds of successfully resolving a DUID charge by contacting us today.
Call a Lawyer After an Arrest for Driving High in California
There are many penalties for driving high in California. You can be fined, sent to jail, and ordered to attend DUI classes. You may also have your license suspended. Face these charges head-on to reduce the odds that you will be convicted. Contact the Simmrin Law Group now for a FREE consultation.
You can reach our DUI lawyers in Los Angeles by calling (310) 997-4688 or filling out our online contact form.
Call or text (310) 896-2723 or complete a Free Case Evaluation form