A conviction for driving under the influence (DUI) in California can lead to a number of serious penalties, including fines. If you are facing DUI charges, you may be wondering about the maximum amount you could be fined for a conviction.
Understanding DUI fines can be complicated as they include penalty assessments. These fines can also increase each time you are convicted. The Simmrin Law Group can help you go over basic DUI fines and your options for avoiding a fine entirely right now.
Basic Fines for a First DUI Offense
As we mentioned, the penalties for DUI convictions grow more severe each time you are arrested. A first-time DUI offense that did not result in an injury may lead to fines as low as $390. However, considering all possible fines and penalty assessments, your fine could increase to up to $2,000.
You should be aware that – if you are convicted of a first DUI – you could also face:
- Jail time of up to six months
- A license suspension of up to one year
For a free legal consultation, call (310) 896-2723
Fines for Subsequent DUI Convictions in California
DUIs are priorable offenses in the state of California. This means that a conviction for a DUI will remain on your record for 10 years. Each time you are convicted of a subsequent DUI, the court can hand down harsher penalties. This means that fines can increase to:
- Up to $2,500 for a second offense
- Up to $3,000 for a third offense
You may also be required to make restitution payments if you caused an accident while driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. These restitution payments can vary greatly depending upon the amount of damage caused by the accident. They can easily grow to thousands of dollars.
Fines for DUI Accidents Causing an Injury
Injuring another person while driving under the influence is considered a serious criminal act in California. As such, the fines for a DUI causing injury are generally higher than those used in other DUI cases. You could face fines of up to $5,000 in this situation.
Restitution payments also apply if you are charged with a DUI causing injury. Depending on the severity of the injuries caused, restitution payments could cost you tens of thousands of dollars.
Click to contact our Criminal Defense Lawyers today
Factors That Increase DUI Fines in California
There are a number of factors that can increase the level of your fines after a DUI conviction in Los Angeles. Your fines may be increased if you:
- Refuse to comply with a legally ordered blood alcohol content (BAC) assessment
- Cause an accident while driving under the influence
- Drive at excessively high speeds while impaired
- Have a BAC that exceeds 0.15%
- Drive under the influence with a passenger under the age of 14
The exact fines you face in these circumstances can vary widely. It is important that you reach out to a criminal defense lawyer in Los Angeles to learn more about the penalties for your specific charges. The Simmrin Law Group can assess your case right now.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Handling DUI Fines in California
As you can see, a DUI conviction in California can lead to incredibly high fines. Fortunately, you can take steps to resolve a DUI charge and avoid fines by reaching out to a DUI lawyer in Los Angeles now. Your lawyer could be able to:
Get Your Charges Dismissed
Sometimes, DUI charges in Los Angeles are dismissed if a legal professional can show that you were arrested without reasonable cause. This can allow you to move forward with your life without facing any fines.
Get Your Charges Reduced
A DUI lawyer may work to get your charges reduced through a plea bargain. Charges for dry reckless or wet reckless generally come with lower fines than a DUI conviction. Note that you will have to plead guilty to accept a plea bargain, so these deals are not always in your best interest.
Fight for You in Court
Some DUI charges in Los Angeles must be resolved in the courtroom. A criminal defense lawyer can work aggressively to bring you a not-guilty verdict. You will not face fines if you are found not guilty by a judge and jury.
Speak to a Los Angeles Criminal Defense Lawyer Today
Make sure you’re ready to take on DUI charges in California by contacting the Simmrin Law Group right away. We are ready to help you understand what you might be fined for a DUI in California. Our DUI lawyers are also ready to construct your defense now.
Get a FREE consultation by completing our online contact form or calling (310) 896-2723 immediately.