The court system in California can order you to install an ignition interlock device (IID) in your vehicle if you are convicted of driving under the influence (DUI). This order is straightforward if you only own one vehicle, but what if you have multiple cars?
Find out if you have to install an IID on every car you own in California with this article. Get more information about the regulations surrounding IIDs by calling (310) 997-4688 to speak to the Simmrin Law Group.
California Requires You to Install IIDs on Your Vehicles
The state of California uses strict regulations to govern IID usage. All drivers legally ordered to utilize an IID must install a device in:
- Any vehicle they regularly operate
- Any vehicle registered in their name
This means that you do have to install an IID on every car you own. In fact, you may have to install an IID even on vehicles you don’t technically own, if you wish to drive them. Note that – following most DUI convictions – you are not legally allowed to operate a vehicle that doesn’t have an IID installed, even for a short trip.
Penalties for Failing to Install IIDs on Your Vehicles
You must install an IID on all vehicles you own after most DUI convictions in California. You can face harsh legal repercussions if you ignore this order. Let’s discuss the reason avoiding the use of an IID is handled so seriously right now.
California allows drivers convicted of a DUI to continue to operate a vehicle if they use an IID. The IID tests your blood alcohol content (BAC) before you are able to turn on your vehicle. This means you are legally allowed to drive, when in other cases your license would be suspended.
Therefore, driving a vehicle without an IID is considered driving on a suspended license. You can face criminal charges for this action, including:
- Jail time of up to six months
- Fines of up to $1,000
You may also have the period of time you are supposed to use an IID reset. In some circumstances, the court could also decide to suspend or revoke your license completely. If you are accused of driving a vehicle without an IID, you can get legal help by contacting a criminal defense lawyer in Los Angeles. Call (310) 997-4688 to reach the professionals at the Simmrin Law Group.
Steps to Install IIDs on All Your Vehicles in California
As you can see, adhering to California’s regulations on IID installation is important. In order to comply with IID regulations, you will need to:
- Contact an installation company approved by the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV)
- Set up an appointment to get IIDs installed in all your vehicles
- Attend the installation and receive training on IID usage
- Provide the DMV with proof of the installation
It costs around $100 to get an IID installed on a single vehicle in California. You will have to pay for the installation of an IID on each of your vehicles. You will also be expected to pay for the IID(s) service and maintenance.
IIDs Remain on Your Vehicles for a Set Amount of Time
You should prepare to keep an IID on your vehicle for a period of months or years after a DUI conviction. California changed the laws surrounding IID usage in 2019. Based on these changes, drivers with a first-time DUI may be required to install an IID for six months. Drivers with subsequent DUI convictions must install IIDs for:
- One year for a second conviction
- Two years for a third conviction
- Three years for subsequent convictions
Attempting to drive a vehicle without an IID after your conviction can lead to legal penalties. Make sure all vehicles you operate following a DUI arrest have an IID for the period of time stated by the court.
Learn About IID Installation with Legal Professionals
Understanding the regulations surrounding IID usage in California can be difficult if you don’t have a firm grasp of the state’s legal codes. You may not even know if you have to install an IID on every car you own. Fortunately, you can get answers to your questions by reaching out to the Simmrin Law Group.
Our team of DUI lawyers in Los Angeles can help you review IID regulations. We may also be able to help you handle the DUI charges you are facing. Successfully resolving a DUI accusation can allow you to avoid installing an IID on your vehicle.
Call us at (310) 997-4688 or complete our online contact form to get a FREE initial case evaluation about your legal options.