Assault refers to the crime of attempting to touch another person in an offensive or harmful way. Note that, in California, you do not actually have to touch someone else to face assault charges. Additionally, some states use different “degrees” of assault.
Third-degree assault is generally considered the least severe form of assault. Many areas define third-degree assault as recklessly inflicting fear of an injury on another person.
Basic Assault Charges in Los Angeles
California uses a number of charges to prosecute assault. Penal Code §240 is used to handle “basic” assault charges. Basic assault deals with the attempted use of force to injure or offend another person.
Individuals can face this charge even if they do not hurt anyone. Note that you have to act “willingly” to face assault charges in the state of California. This means that accidentally applying force to another person would not lead to an assault conviction.
Basic assault charges are treated as a misdemeanor in Los Angeles. Convictions can lead to:
- Fines of up to $1,000
- Jail time of up to six months
Charges for Assault Involving Law Enforcement Personnel
The state of California uses harsher penalties for individuals accused of assaulting law enforcement personnel. This includes police officers, traffic officers, EMTs, and firefighters. It also covers less obvious individuals, such as:
- Animal control officers
- Doctors and nurses offering emergency medical treatment
Assaulting any of these individuals while they are performing their duties will lead to harsher penalties. For example, a conviction could lead to fines of up to $2,000 and jail time of up to one year.
Severe Charges for Assault in California
Some assault charges are treated as “wobblers.” Wobblers are prosecuted as either misdemeanors or felonies, based on the facts of the case. The following charges are all examples of wobbler assault allegations in California:
- Assault with a deadly weapon
- Assault on a public official
- Assault with caustic chemicals
Note that the above is not a comprehensive list of assault charges treated as wobblers in Los Angeles. Individuals convicted of a felony can end up facing prison time inside of jail time. Generally, felony convictions result in up to three years in prison.
A felony conviction will also have long-lasting effects on an individual’s life. Felons are not permitted to own or buy firearms in California, for example. This applies to individuals convicted of felony assault as well as other violent crimes.
Find Out How Assault Differs from Battery
Many people in California associate assault and battery charges. However, assault is not the same as battery. Battery occurs if someone touches another person in a harmful or offensive way and causes an injury or harm.
Battery is also considered a violent crime in California. The severity of the charge frequently depends upon the injuries caused by an act of battery. Fines and incarceration are the common penalties for a battery conviction.
Handle All Assault Charges in Los Angeles
California uses charges for basic assault, assault on public officers, and assault with a deadly weapon. A criminal defense lawyer in Los Angeles can assist you with any of these charges. Members of our team at the Simmrin Law Group are prepared to take on your defense right now.
We know how to build a defense that can protect you in and out of court. Our team can work to show that you were acting in self-defense or that you accidentally took an action that resembled assault. We’re ready to resolve your charges so you can move forward with your life.
Talk to a Lawyer About Third-Degree Assault Now
Allow our assault lawyers in Los Angeles to walk you through the charges California uses to prosecute this violent crime. Just complete our online contact form or call us at (310) 997-4688.
We’ll begin working on your case now with a free consultation. Don’t wait to get the help you want, contact us today.