Many drivers convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) in California are interested in getting their record expunged. How much does it cost to expunge a DUI in California? The price for expungement may vary greatly depending upon where you live and the lawyers you choose to hire.
Find out more about the costs to get a DUI expunged with this article. You can also review some of the benefits and drawbacks of getting a DUI expunged in California.
Court Fees for Expungement in California
Getting a DUI expunged in California is a legal process. It requires you to pay a filing fee to the court in many cases. However, this filing fee is not the same throughout the state. Different counties charge different fees. Some counties do not charge a fee at all.
You should also know that some courts may waive your filing fee. Generally, fees are waived on the basis of financial need. You may need to provide the court with your financial information – such as pay stubs – in order to get your filing fee waived.
Getting your filing fee waived may help you handle the costs of a DUI expungement.
Lawyers Charge Different Prices for DUI Expungement
Not all law firms charge the same amount to handle a DUI expungement. In fact, the amount charged by a lawyer may vary greatly. Some lawyers charge around $150. Other law firms may charge upwards of $500. The cost of your lawyer often depends upon:
- The area where they are located
- Their level of experience with DUI expungements
- The number of lawyers on staff
Before you hire a lawyer, make sure you speak with them about their fees for DUI expungement. Do not assume that all lawyers will charge you the same amount. Discuss the court filing fees in your area with a lawyer before you hire them.
Some law firms claim that court filing fees are included in their prices. However, this may not make sense if you live in an area where the court does not charge a filing fee. Make sure you understand the court fees in your area before working with a lawyer. You can call (310) 997-4688 when you’re ready to discuss expungement with a DUI lawyer.
Information About Getting a DUI Expunged in California
Many drivers in California consider getting a DUI expunged after they are convicted. DUIs are often eligible for expungement. Note that you must complete all punishments handed down from the court before you get a charge expunged. Additionally, you may only get a charge expunged if you did not spend time in prison.
Expunging a charge removes it from your criminal record. Expunged charges should not count against you on a background check. This means they should not impact the decisions of potential employers or landlords.
However, getting a DUI expunged does not remove all the effects of a conviction. Your DUI conviction remains on your driving record. A DUI conviction stays on your driving record for 10 years, regardless of whether you get an expungement or not.
Your DUI charge will count against you if you are charged with another DUI within 10 years of your arrest. All DUIs in California are priorable and continue to count against you until they come off of your driving record.
Other Methods to Handle DUI Charges
Expungement may remove a DUI from your criminal record after a conviction. However, expungement does not take a DUI off of your driving record. You may want to handle a DUI charge before you are convicted in California.
You can contact a DUI lawyer to start working on a defense immediately after you are arrested. A lawyer can help you work on your case. Your lawyer may work to block evidence against you. In some cases, a lawyer may get your charges dismissed.
Your lawyer may also work to bring you a plea bargain. A law firm could even represent you in court, working to bring you a not guilty verdict here in California.
Talk to a Lawyer About the Cost to Expunge a DUI
How much does it cost to expunge a DUI in California? The costs may vary based on where you live and the law firm you hire. You can discuss the costs to handle an expungement with the Simmrin Law Group right now. Reach our DUI lawyers to get help on your side by completing our online contact form. You can also call (310) 997-4688.
Reach out to us and get a free consultation regarding your legal situation.