Drivers in Mission Viejo must obey a number of traffic regulations. The state of California requires drivers to maintain certain speeds, to demonstrate a certain level of care behind the wheel, and to avoid driving under the influence (DUI).
You can face harsh penalties if you are charged with a DUI in California. Make sure you are ready to take on these accusations by contacting a DUI lawyer in Mission Viejo as soon as you are arrested. The Simmrin Law Group can start going over your options for a legal defense now.
DUI Charges and Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) in Mission Viejo
Many drivers are charged with a DUI after they are pulled over. Police officers may pull drivers over if they have reason to believe a driver is operating a vehicle under the influence. Police officers can also set up traffic stops to check the BAC of drivers.
The state of California has set limits on the amount of alcohol an individual can drink before getting behind the wheel. Generally, drivers must keep their BAC below:
- 0.08% for Non-Commercial Drivers Over 21
- 0.04% for Commercial Drivers Over 21
- 0.01% for All Drivers Under 21
However, you should be aware that police officers may charge anyone with a DUI if they suspect a driver is operating a vehicle under the influence. Additionally, you can face charges for operating a vehicle under the influence of drugs.
For a free legal consultation with a lawyer serving Mission Viejo, call (310) 928-9347
Results of a DUI Conviction in Mission Viejo
Drivers who are convicted of a DUI in Mission Viejo can face a number of severe penalties. Even a first-time DUI charge can be severe. DUI charges are also legally challenging because the penalties will grow more severe if you are charged with subsequent DUIs.
You can check out some examples of the penalties for DUI charges here:
Fines for DUI Charges:
- 1st DUI Offense: Up to $2,000
- 2nd DUI Offense: Up to $2,500
- 3rd DUI Offense: Up to $3,000
Jail Time for DUI Charges
- 1st DUI Offense: Up to six Months
- 2nd DUI Offense: Up to one Year
- 3rd DUI Offense: Up to one Year
License Suspension for DUI Charges
- 1st DUI Offense: Up to one Year
- 2nd DUI Offense: Up to two Years
- 3rd DUI Offense: Up to three Years
You should be aware that these are only the penalties for a basic DUI charge. The court can increase the penalties you face if someone is injured or killed due to a DUI collision.
Criminal Defense Lawyer Near Me (310) 928-9347
The Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) and License Suspensions
We have mentioned that your license can be suspended due to a DUI conviction. This suspension can be carried out by the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). In fact, the DMV can automatically suspend your license if you do not request a hearing within 10 days of your arrest.
Our DUI lawyers at the Simmrin Law Group can request your DMV hearing. Let us stand up for you in front of the DMV to take steps to prevent the suspension of your license.
Note that recent changes to legal codes in California may allow you to avoid a license suspension if you agree to install an ignition interlock device (IID) in your vehicle. This device will measure your BAC before allowing you to turn your vehicle on.
Defending Yourself from DUI Charges in Mission Viejo
DMV charges should be taken very seriously in Mission Viejo. Individuals who are convicted of a DUI can face fines and jail time. A DUI conviction can also remain on your record, causing you additional difficulties if you are arrested for a subsequent DUI in the future.
A DUI lawyer in Mission Viejo can get to work on your case right away. Your lawyer may be able to discredit the results of a chemical blood test to weaken the evidence against you. A lawyer may also be able to argue that you should never have been stopped by a police officer in the first place.
Depending on the facts surrounding your case, your lawyer may:
- Get Your Case Dismissed
- Arrange a Plea Bargain with Prosecutors
- Take Your Case to Court
In some cases, your lawyer may be able to secure you dry reckless charges as part of a plea bargain. You will still face a fine and possible jail time if you accept a dry reckless plea bargain, but this charge is not considered priorable, so it will not count against you if you face future DUI accusations.
Speak with a criminal defense lawyer in Mission Viejo now to learn more about your potential legal options when you are charged with a DUI.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Build Your Defense with a Mission Viejo DUI Lawyer
Contacting a DUI lawyer in Mission Viejo should be your first act after you are charged with a DUI. The Simmrin Law Group can begin going over your case right now. Let us focus on constructing your defense and protecting your future. Call us at (310) 997-4688, or complete our online contact form to get the legal advice you need.
Take charge of your future after you are accused of a DUI with our FREE initial case evaluation.