The state of California expects all drivers to follow certain rules of the road. The state forbids drivers from operating a vehicle under the influence of drugs or alcohol. Breaking this law can lead to charges for driving under the influence (DUI) in Newport Beach.
DUI convictions can lead to serious consequences. Drivers can be incarceration and fined. You could even have your license suspended. Fight back against these charges by reaching out to the Simmrin Law Group’s DUI lawyers in Newport Beach today. Let us start working on your defense now.
Go Over the Specifics of Driving Under the Influence in Newport Beach
Driving under the influence has a clear legal definition in the state of California. Drivers can be prosecuted if they drive after:
- Drinking Alcohol
- Engaging in Drug Use
Note that you can face DUI charges even for the use of certain legitimate prescription medications. If the medication impaired your ability to drive, a police officer could charge you with a DUI.
Generally, DUIs for alcohol use are based upon your blood alcohol content (BAC). The state of California requires non-commercial drivers over 21 to keep their BAC below 0.08%. Commercial drivers must maintain a BAC of under 0.04%. Drivers under 21 can be charged if the BAC is 0.01% or higher.
For a free legal consultation with a lawyer serving Newport Beach, call (310) 928-9347
Charges Used to Prosecuted DUI Charges in California
There are a number of different criminal charges used to prosecute individuals who are accused of a DUI. Depending upon the specific facts surrounding your case, you could be charged with:
- California Vehicle Code Section 21200.5: Riding A Bicycle Under The Influence
- California Vehicle Code Section 23140: Under 21 DUI With Blood Alcohol Content Between 0.05-0.07 Percent
- California Vehicle Code Section 23152(a): Driving Under The Influence Of Alcohol
- California Vehicle Code Section 23152(b): Driving With A Blood Alcohol Content Of 0.08 Percent Or Higher
- California Vehicle Code Section 23152(f): Driving Under the Influence of Drugs
- California Vehicle Code Section 23153: DUI Causing Injury
Each of these charges can be easier to beat if you have dedicated legal support from a criminal defense lawyer in Newport Beach. A criminal defense lawyer can help you understand all aspects of the specific charge you are facing while working on developing your defense.
Criminal Defense Lawyer Near Me (310) 928-9347
Legal Results of a Newport Beach DUI Conviction
DUI charges can have lasting effects on your life. The exact penalties you could face will depend upon the charges brought against you. However, many DUI charges use the same basic penalties, which can include:
- Time in Jail
- High Fines
- The Suspension of Your License
DUIs should always be taken seriously as the penalties for a conviction will grow more severe for subsequent DUI charges. For example, a first-time conviction for a basic DUI charge can lead to:
- Fines: Up to $2,000
- Jail Time: Up to 6 Months
- License Suspension: Up to 1 Year
These penalties can be incredibly disruptive to your life, but they will only get worse if you are convicted of a second DUI, which can result in:
- Fines: Up to $2,500
- Jail Time: Up to 1 Year
- License Suspension: Up to 2 Years
You may also be forced to attend and alcohol treatment program if you are convicted of a DUI in Newport Beach.
The Department of Motor Vehicles and DUI Charges
You should also be aware that the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) can play a role in DUI proceedings. You will need to request a DUI hearing with the DMV within 10 days of your arrest. A failure to request this hearing can result in the automatic suspension of your license.
Fight Back Today with a DUI Lawyer in California
Facing a DUI charge can be a stressful experience. Fortunately, you do not have to defend yourself from these charges alone. You can reach out to a legal professional for help today. The DUI lawyers at the Simmrin Law Group may be able to:
- Block Evidence Regarding Your BAC
- Dispute the Charges You Are Facing
- Handle Your DMV Hearing
Depending upon your situation, you may be able to accept a plea bargain for lessened charges. Your DUI lawyer can also fight for you in court, working tirelessly to secure a verdict in your favor in Newport Beach.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Let a Newport Beach DUI Lawyer Fight for You
Drivers who get professional help on their side are more likely to beat a DUI charge in Newport Beach. Make sure you are ready to face the charges against you by working with the Simmrin Law Group. You can contact our DUI lawyers in Newport Beach by calling (310) 997-4688 of filling out our online contact form.
Start working on your case now with a FREE initial case evaluation.