While getting pulled over for speeding can seem like a minor inconvenience or annoyance, in California, it could cause a lasting impact a driver does not consider before putting the pedal to the metal. For starters, the fines for speeding in California can be pretty hefty. The price will depend upon how fast the driver was going when they were stopped. Driving between 1 and 15 miles per hour over the limit is a $35 flat fine. Many people might think the fine not so bad, that is before other fines, fees, and assessments are added, which can add $280 to that fine. For those who are going more than 100 m.p.h., super speeder laws apply. The state authorizes a base fee of $500 and a license suspension of up to 30 days.
The Norwalk Reflector reports that while there have been fewer crashes amid the shutdown, super speeder tickets have been on the rise.
An updated study from U.C. Davis’ Road Ecology Center found that the shutdown due to COVID-19 has had some unintended consequences.
Traffic accidents have dropped by more than half their previous rate, saving the state an estimated $1 billion.
While this might sound like good news, the wide-open freeways and highways have caused drivers pushing triple-digit speeds to spike. The California Highway Patrol reports that citations for speeding over 100 m.p.h. have risen. Between March 19 and 29, CHP officers issued 543 citations for speeds over 100 m.p.h. across the state. This represents a 30% increase.
During the same timeframe in 2019, there were 419 speeding infractions. The data shows that while the number of super speeders has increased, the amount of normal speeding has decreased amid the pandemic.