You can face severe challenges if you are charged with a violent crime in Norwalk. The court system can harshly penalize individuals for any accusation of assault or battery. A conviction can lead to high fines and years of time in prison or jail.
Getting professional help right away can increase your chances of successfully winning your case. You can count on the Simmrin Law Group’s skilled violent crimes lawyers in Norwalk to provide the help you need. Get ready to fight back with professionals on your side.
Charges of Assault in Norwalk
You can be charged with assault if you willfully use force while intended to hurt someone else. This charge often accompanies a charge of battery, which occurs if you actually touch someone while using force or violence.
Simple assault is the charged commonly used to prosecute individuals for hitting, shoving, or pushing one another person. You could also face harsher charges if you commit more serious acts, including:
- Assault with a Deadly Weapon
- Assault by Means Likely to Produce Great Bodily Injury
- Assault with a Firearm
The court can treat assault as a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on your situation. You can ensure you’re ready for court no matter what charge you’re facing by contacting a Norwalk criminal defense lawyer as soon as possible.
For a free legal consultation with a lawyer serving Norwalk, call (310) 928-9347
Norwalk’s Charges for Battery
The state of California defines battery as the unlawful and willful use of violence or force on another person. Your actions must result in an injury for you to be convicted of battery. You will generally face different penalties depending on the severity of a victim’s injuries.
Simple battery is generally the charge used if no serious injuries occur. You can be sent to jail for 6 months and fined $2,000 for simple battery, which is considered a misdemeanor by the court system.
You could be charged with felony battery if an attack led to serious injuries, or if you battered an officer of the law.
Criminal Defense Lawyer Near Me (310) 928-9347
Murder Charges in California
No crime is treated as seriously as murder in the court system in Norwalk. You could face life in prison or even the death penalty if you are convicted of murder. Any time one person causes the death of another without legal justification it can result in a murder charge.
The term “legal justification” is very important here. Killing another person is considered justified in certain cases. For instance, you should not be charged with murder in California for killing someone in self-defense.
The court system uses two different charges to prosecute accusations of murder:
First Degree Murder
The court defines first degree murder as taking someone else’s life after planning out your actions. No other crime is punished as harshly as first degree murder. A conviction can lead to the death penalty, which is still supported by California.
Second Degree Murder
Individuals charged with second degree murder are accused of killing someone without premeditation. While this crime is less severe than first degree murder, it is still very serious. Individuals convicted of second degree murder are commonly sentenced to life in prison in California.
No one is prepared for a murder accusation. Make sure your lawyer has time to prepare your defense by contacting a violent crimes lawyer quickly. You need help and support to effectively deal with a murder charge in Norwalk.
Domestic Violence and Criminal Charges in Norwalk
The court system in Norwalk can come down hard on individuals who are accused of domestic violence. Domestic violence occurs if someone hurts or harasses their current romantic partner or an ex. Many different actions can be charged as domestic violence in Norwalk, including:
- Abusive behavior
- Destruction of property
You can even face domestic violence charges for making a threat and not hurting anyone. Note that some charges are more specific and lead to harsher consequences, such as domestic battery, which requires you to touch a partner in a way that is offensive.
Domestic violence conviction can lead to jail time and high fines. You could also be denied custody of your children in the event of a divorce if you have a domestic violence conviction.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
A Violent Crimes Lawyer Can Help You
Norwalk courts can punish you harshly if you’re charged with a violent crime. You don’t have to face this courtroom battle alone. The Simmrin Law Group is here to provide you with the care and support you need during this difficult time.
You can reach our violence crimes lawyers in Norwalk whenever you need help. We’ll provide you with a FREE consultation to focus on your unique needs. Make sure you’re ready to protect your future by calling (310) 997-4688 or filling out our online form to the right.