Weapons charges can be one of the most difficult aspects of the legal code to understand in Norwalk, CA. The laws for properly using a weapon, including any firearm, are incredibly complex and they often seem contradictory.
Getting help right away can improve your odds of handling your case successfully. You can work with a weapons charges lawyer in Norwalk to build a solid defense. The Simmrin Law Group understands what you’re going through and we’re here to answer your questions.
Understanding What Weapons Are in Norwalk
Some people think they can only face weapons charges for their use of a gun, but, in some cases, you can be charged for the use of:
- Swords and Knives
- Broken Glass, Beer Bottles, and Rocks
- Pens, Pencils, and Scissors
- Baseball Bats and Clubs
- Power Tools
- Attack Dogs
California also has a very broad definition of firearms. All of the following weapons are considered firearms:
- Antique Guns
In many cases, you can face weapons charges even if your firearm is not operable. Make sure that you’re ready for weapons charges no matter what implement you are accused of using by contacting a criminal defense lawyer in Norwalk today.
For a free legal consultation with a lawyer serving Norwalk, call (310) 896-2723
Charges for Carrying Firearms in Norwalk
Generally, you will only be able to carry a firearm in public if you have a special concealed carry permit (CCP). You can face the following serious charges if you carry a firearm illegally:
Carrying a Concealed Weapon
The state of California prohibits people from concealing a firearm:
- On Their Person
- In Their Vehicle
You are allowed to carry a firearm in a locked container, and if you have a CCP you do not have to worry about these restrictions. Carrying a concealed weapon without a permit can lead to harsh charges in California, including up to 3 years of jail time and fines of up to $10,000.
Carrying a Loaded Firearm
You cannot avoid the penalty for carrying a concealed weapon without a permit in California by openly carrying a firearm in Norwalk. You would likely end up charged with carrying a loaded firearm, instead. You could face 3 years of jail time and $10,000 in fines if you are convicted of carrying a loaded firearm.
Criminal Defense Lawyer Near Me (310) 896-2723
Charges for Using Weapons in Norwalk
Carrying a firearm can get you in deep legal trouble. Drawing or using a weapon can result in even harsher penalties. You can be charged with:
Brandishing a Deadly Weapon
Individuals can be face charges of brandishing a deadly weapon if they take out or display any kind of weapon in a manner that is threatening. Brandishing a deadly weapon also occurs if you draw a weapon:
- During an argument or fight
- Without lawful reason
- Without intending to defend yourself or another person
In the most severe cases, a conviction for brandishing a deadly weapon can lead to:
- High fines
- A lifelong ban on firearm ownership
- 3 years in prison
Individuals who recklessly fire a gun can be charged with negligent discharge. This charge only applies if you intentionally fire a gun. Negligent discharge does not apply if you were intentionally trying to harm someone, so you won’t face this charge if you were acting to defend yourself.
You might face misdemeanor or felony charges for negligent discharge. You could be fined $10,000 and sent to county jail for 3 years if you are convicted. Any charge for weapons usage should be taken seriously. Make sure you’re ready to fight for your future by working with a weapons charges lawyer today.
Charges for Selling or Owning Weapons in Norwalk
The state of California strictly regulates who can sell or even own firearms. For example, you must have a special permit to be able to:
- Sell guns
- Lease guns
- Change the ownership of a firearm
There are a few exceptions to this rule, but they are frequently misunderstood, which can lead to serious criminal charges. The unlicensed sale of firearms can lead to 6 months of jail time and fines of $1,000 for EACH firearm that changes hands.
Additionally, some people are not permitted to own a firearm at all in Norwalk. California has a “felon with a firearm” law that has made it illegal for you to possess a gun if you are a:
- Narcotic drug user
- Convicted felon
- Person with certain protective or restraining orders
You are also not permitted to own a gun if you were convicted of:
- Some misdemeanors
- Federal charges that were sentenced as felonies
- A crime that led to at least 30 days in federal prison
You can be fined $10,000 and sent to jail for 3 years if convicted under the felon with a firearm law. Note that you can also face serious charges if you sell or purchase assault rifles in California, even if you are in good legal standing.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
A Norwalk Weapons Charges Lawyer Can Help You
You don’t have to fight for your future alone. A weapons charges lawyer in Norwalk can take on your case so that you’re ready for whatever the legal system throws at you. The Simmrin Law Group has experience and a reputation for protecting our clients. Let’s get started with a FREE consultation.
You can reach us by calling (310) 896-2723 or filling out the form on the right.