Improve your odds of handling charges for driving under the influence (DUI) in Riverside, CA, by getting professional help. A DUI lawyer in Riverside, CA, at the Simmrin Law Group is ready to:
- Advise you during legal questioning
- Help during your bail hearing
- Work to block evidence against you
- Take steps to get your charges reduced
- Focus on getting your charges dismissed
Allow our DUI lawyers in Riverside to begin working on a personalized legal defense for you now. You can contact us to learn more about your legal options by calling (310) 896-2723.
Basic Facts About DUI Charges In Riverside
Drivers in California may be charged with a DUI anytime they operate a motor vehicle while impaired by alcohol or drugs. Individuals may be charged with a DUI if they use some prescription medications, over-the-counter medications, or illicit chemical substances.
Drivers may be accused of an alcohol-related DUI if their blood alcohol content (BAC) level exceeds the legal limits set in Riverside. Legally, this means you can face criminal charges anytime your BAC is at or above:
- 0.08% if you are a non-commercial driver over 21
- 0.04% if you are a commercial driver over 21
- 0.01% if you are a driver under 21
DUI charges in Riverside can be prosecuted as misdemeanors or felonies. However, felony charges are only used if a driver has multiple past convictions or if they injured or killed someone in a DUI accident. Speak with a Riverside, CA, DUI attorney from the Simmrin Law Group today.
For a free legal consultation with a lawyer serving Riverside, call (310) 896-2723
Charges Used To Prosecute DUIs In Riverside
California does not have one set charge used to prosecute DUIs in Riverside. Instead, drivers may face several charges, depending upon the facts of their case. Some common examples of DUI charges in Riverside include:
- California Vehicle Code §23136: Under 21 DUI with Any Measurable Amount of Alcohol
- California Vehicle Code §23152(a): Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol
- California Vehicle Code §23152(d): Driving a Commercial Vehicle with a Blood Alcohol Content of 0.04 Percent or Higher
- California Vehicle Code §23152(g): Driving Under the Combined Influence of Alcohol and Drugs
These charges should be taken seriously, as they can lead to harsh legal repercussions if you are convicted. Contact a Riverside DUI lawyer today to review your best options for handling a DUI charge. You can call to focus on building your defense.
Criminal Defense Lawyer Near Me (310) 896-2723
Repercussions For Riverside DUI Convictions
Drivers convicted of a DUI in Riverside can face several penalties. Some of the most common repercussions of a DUI conviction include:
- Fines and restitution payments
- Time spent in jail or prison
- Mandatory attendance in DUI school
- Restrictions on your driving privileges
All DUIs in Riverside are considered priorable by the California court system. This means that you will face higher penalties each time you are convicted of a DUI in the state of California. The penalties you face will go up each time you are convicted within a 10-year window of your first DUI.
Click to contact our Criminal Defense Lawyers today
Penalties For DUI Charges In Riverside, CA
A DUI charge and subsequent conviction in Riverside, California, come with stiff consequences. Should you be convicted of DUI, you can face the following:
- No more than $2,000 in fines
- No more than six months in jail
- No more than one year with a driver’s license suspension
If you are charged with a second or subsequent DUI after a conviction, you face an increase in the above penalties to the following limits:
- No more than $2,500 in fines
- No more than one year in jail
- No more than two years with a driver’s license suspension
These penalties are just the tip of the iceberg. You might have trouble securing employment, could be denied a rental application, and might even lose family and friends over the conviction. You need the experience of a DUI defense attorney in Riverside, CA, on your side.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Your Legal Options For Handling A DUI In Riverside
You can get professional assistance handling a DUI charge in Riverside by contacting the Simmrin Law Group. Our DUI attorneys in Riverside can assess your unique legal situation as they begin working on your defense. Depending upon the facts of your case, they may be able to argue that:
Your BAC Was Not Over The Legal Limit
In some cases, a DUI lawyer can work to show that your BAC did not exceed the legal limit. This may involve disputing the results of a BAC test. These tests may return faulty results if they are not conducted, stored, and completed correctly.
You Were Not Impaired While Driving
Sometimes, drivers in Riverside are arrested even if their BAC is under the legal limit if a law enforcement officer believes they are impaired. Your lawyer can work to show that you were operating your vehicle safely and responsibly.
You Were Stopped Without Due Cause
Law enforcement officers are not supposed to stop a driver unless they have reasonable cause to believe they’re breaking the law. If you were pulled over without a good reason, your lawyer might be able to defend you from DUI charges.
Build A Defense With A Riverside DUI Attorney
Take proactive steps to build a defense if you are charged with a DUI in Riverside. Reach out to the Simmrin Law Group as soon as you are arrested for focusing on your legal needs. We can go over your unique needs today with a FREE consultation.
Reaching our DUI lawyers in Riverside is easy. Call or fill out our online contact form.