You can face incredibly steep penalties for driving under the influence (DUI) in Torrance. Even a first-time offense can have serious repercussions. A DUI conviction can lead to hefty fines, jail time, and even the suspension of your license.
Protecting yourself from a DUI charge in Torrance can be easier if you have an experienced DUI lawyer on your side. You can count on the legal professionals at the Simmrin Law Group to offer you excellent support as you face your courtroom battle.
Defending Against DUI Charges and Traffic Violations in Torrance
A DUI charge can impact the course of your life for years to come, but it is not the only charge you have to worry about while driving. You can also face a number of other charges for traffic violations in Torrance. You might have to deal with traffic infractions as well as criminal charges for acts like:
- Driving on a Revoked License
- Driving on a Suspended License
- Reckless Driving
Any charge related to a traffic violation or a DUI can end up adding points to your license. If enough points are put on your license, it will be suspended. Your license can be affected if you earn:
- 4 points in 1 year.
- 6 points in 2 years.
- 8 points in 3 years.
Even a small mistake while you drive can have dire consequences for your future. You can get help defending yourself by contacting a Torrance criminal defense lawyer who specializes in traffic violations. Make sure you’re ready for court with the help of a legal professional.
For a free legal consultation with a lawyer serving Torrance, call (310) 928-9347
Torrance’s DUI Charges
California determines whether or not you were driving under the influence by measuring your blood alcohol content (BAC). The legal limit for your BAC will vary based on your age and what kind of driver you are. For example, a driver over the age of 21 must have a BAC of less than .08%.
However, younger drivers can face charges if their BAC is at or above .01%. Commercial drivers must maintain a BAC of less than .04% to avoid charges.
Your BAC can be measured with a chemical test if you are pulled over and suspected of driving under the influence. You must complete this test, or your license will be suspended. You will also be faced with a fine for refusing the test.
You can be sentenced to spend time in jail and to lose your license if you are convicted of a DUI. The court will judge you more severely each time you earn a DUI charge. You can ensure you’re treated fairly and that your defense is strong by working with a DUI lawyer.
Criminal Defense Lawyer Near Me (310) 928-9347
California’s Traffic Infraction Laws
A traffic infraction is a mistake made while driving that is not considered a criminal offense. You are probably familiar with many common traffic infractions, which can include:
- Illegally Changing Lanes
- Running a Stop Sign
Most traffic infractions are handled by police officers, who will pull you over and give you a ticket. You can also receive tickets from red light cameras. A red light camera records drivers at intersections and will penalize you for running a stop light.
You will typically get one point put onto your license for a traffic infraction. Most of the time you will be forced to pay a $450 fine if you are found guilty. In some situations, your car could also be impounded.
Misdemeanor Traffic Violations in Torrance
While some driving mistakes are considered traffic infractions, others are treated as criminal acts in Torrance. You could face misdemeanor charges in the court of law for some actions, including:
Driving on a Revoked or Suspended License
You are only permitted to operate a motor vehicle in Torrance if your license is in good standing. If you drive after your license has been suspended or revoked, you will face criminal charges.
You could face severe penalties if you drive without a legally valid license. The exact nature of your charges will depend on why your license was initially revoked or suspended.
Many acts fall under the umbrella description of reckless driving. Reckless driving involves showing willful disregard for the safety of another person in a motor vehicle. You can be charged with reckless driving for many activities, including:
- Daredevil Behavior
- Racing or Excessive Speeding
- Road Rage
- Illegal Passing
- Driving on a Sidewalk
Any misdemeanor traffic violation will add 2 points to your license. A conviction for reckless driving or driving on a suspended or revoked license could lead to jail time and fines of up to $1,000. You can build a defense against these criminal charges by working with a DUI lawyer in Torrance.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Fight for Your Future with a DUI Lawyer
You could end up paying for a DUI charge for years to come. Get the help you need to build your case by working with a skilled DUI lawyer in Torrance. The Simmrin Law Group can help you navigate the criminal justice system in California as you deal with traffic violation charges. Make sure you’re ready for your legal challenges by taking advantage of our FREE consultation today.
You can reach us by filling out the form on the right or calling (310) 997-4688.