You could face a tremendous legal battle if accused of a sex crime in Torrance, CA. A sex crimes conviction can upend your life, resulting in high fines, imprisonment, and even a place on California’s sex offender registry.
It’s easy to be overwhelmed by the court system when facing a sex crimes charge. Fortunately, you do not have to face these charges alone. An experienced sex crimes lawyer in Torrance can help you build a defense. The Simmrin Law Group can take your case and provide you with the legal aid you need.
Don’t Underestimate Sex Crime Charges in Torrance
The court system in Torrance uses many charges to handle sex crimes. You could face the following charges if accused of sexual misconduct or sexual abuse:
- Lewd Conduct
- Indecent Exposure
- Sexual Battery
Sex crimes involving minors are handled with unique charges, such as:
- Traveling to Meet a Minor
- Seduce or Solicit a Minor
- Child Pornography
- Statutory Rape
You could also face human trafficking charges in Torrance. Additionally, the court system can charge you with failure to register as a sex offender in some circumstances. Any sex crimes charge can impact your life forever. Get help building a case right away by working with a skilled criminal defense lawyer.
For a free legal consultation with a lawyer serving Torrance, call (310) 928-9347
Prostitution and Human Trafficking in Torrance
The court system in Torrance defines prostitution as agreeing to engage or engaging in a sex act in exchange for payment. You can face charges of soliciting a prostitute if you agree or pay or pay someone else to perform a sex act. Any act of prostitution can lead to 180 days in jail.
Human trafficking charges are more severe than prostitution. Human trafficking involves forcing other people to perform illegal acts, which are often sexual in nature. Generally, a victim is deprived of his or her liberty in human trafficking cases. You could face life in prison if convicted of human trafficking.
Criminal Defense Lawyer Near Me (310) 928-9347
Charges of Lewd Conduct and Indecent Exposure
Charges of lewd conduct apply if an individual touches their own private parts on another person’s private parts in a public place. A lewd conduct charge can also be brought against people who simply ask someone else to touch their private parts. A lewd conduct conviction can result in 6 months in jail.
Indecent exposure occurs if an individual reveals his or her private parts in public. You could be charged with a misdemeanor or a felony for revealing yourself. The court can sentence you to 3 years in prison for an indecent exposure conviction.
California’s Charges for Sexual Battery and Rape
You can be charged with sexual battery if you touch another person in an unwanted sexual way. The court can treat sexual battery as a misdemeanor or a felony. A sexual battery conviction can lead to 4 years in prison and fines of $10,000.
Rape occurs if a person is forced into an act of sexual intercourse. Charges of rape apply if the victim is threatened, physically forced, or drugged into performing a sex act. The charge of date rape can apply if the perpetrator and victim knew one another or were involved.
The court system in Torrance treats rape as a felony. You could end up spending 8 years in prison if convicted of rape.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Sex Crimes Involving Minors in Torrance
In general, you will be punished more severely for sex crimes that involve minors. The court system considers many of these acts to be child molestation or child sexual abuse. You could face a number of specific charges, such as:
Traveling to Meet a Minor
You can be charged with traveling to meet a minor if you set up a rendezvous with a minor for sexual reasons. The court sometimes refers to this as arranging to meet with a minor for lewd purposes. Individuals can be charged with a misdemeanor or a felony for traveling to meet a minor.
Seduce or Solicit a Minor
Seducing or soliciting a minor deals with sexual misconduct carried out over the internet or with a computer. Seducing or soliciting a minor can also lead to charges of transmitting sexual material to a minor or luring a child.
The court considers sexually explicit images of minors to be child pornography. You could face child pornography charges for creating, having, or sharing pictures of minors that are sexually explicit. Child pornography can result in misdemeanor or felony charges.
You could be charged with statutory rape if you perform a sex act with someone under the age of 18. The courts sometimes refer to statutory rape as unlawful sexual activity with a minor. You might face misdemeanor or felony charges if accused of statutory rape.
California’s Sex Offender Registry Laws
Many sex crimes require you to join California’s sex offender registry if you are convicted. You could be charged with a misdemeanor or a felony if you fail to properly complete your registration. A conviction for failure to register as a sex offender can lead to 3 years in prison.
Defend Yourself from Sex Crime Charges
A sex crimes charge can throw your entire life off track. You can focus on protecting yourself in court by working with an experienced sex crimes lawyer in Torrance. The Simmrin Law Group has a reputation for beating prosecutors. We know what you’re going through and we can help build your case. Let us get to work for you by contacting us for a FREE consultation.
You can reach us today by calling (310) 997-4688 or by completing the form on the right.