Car insurance offers drivers financial protection in the event of a motor vehicle collision in Torrance. Drivers may need to use insurance to cover medical bills and repair costs for themselves or for other individuals involved in the wreck.
Due to this financial liability, the state of California requires all drivers to carry some form of insurance. In fact, you can face criminal charges if you drive without insurance. The Simmrin Law Group’s driving without insurance lawyers in Torrance can build your defense if you were accused of operating your vehicle without insurance.
Your Options for Car Insurance in Torrance
We mentioned that all drivers in Torrance are required to carry some form of car insurance. Let’s go over the options used for car insurance in California:
Car Insurance Policies
Most drivers purchase a policy from an insurance company to cover this legal burden. Drivers who choose this option must typically carry insurance to cover:
- Property damage
- Bodily injury
- Uninsured motorists
Additionally, drivers must carry certain minimum amounts of insurance to avoid driving without insurance charges. Carrying an insufficient policy can lead to criminal charges.
Cash Deposits with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV)
You do not have to purchase a car insurance policy with a dedicated insurance company. The DMV will accept a cash deposit that can count for car insurance, allowing you to operate your vehicle without worrying about driving without insurance charges.
Surety Bonds from Licensed Bond Companies
Some licensed bond companies will sell you surety bonds that you can use as proof that you have car insurance. You should be aware that your surety bond will have to show that you are covered for $35,000 or more to count as sufficient car insurance in Torrance.
For a free legal consultation with a lawyer serving Torrance, call (310) 928-9347
The Penalties for a Torrance Driving Without Insurance Conviction
Drivers accused of driving without insurance can face harsh fines in the court system in Torrance. A first-time conviction for driving without insurance can lead to fines of up to $100.
If you are charged with driving without insurance again within a three-year period of time, you can face higher fines of up to $500. However, if you are not arrested for driving without insurance for over three years, the initial charge will no longer count against you.
A criminal defense lawyer in Torrance can help you if you are facing your first driving without insurance accusation, or a subsequent accusation. Take steps to defend yourself from these charges by reaching out to the Simmrin Law Group right now.
Criminal Defense Lawyer Near Me (310) 928-9347
Start Building a Defense to Driving Without Insurance Charges Now
You can increase your odds of successfully resolving a driving without insurance charge by getting professional legal help right away. Drivers who contact a criminal defense lawyer as soon as they are charged will be more likely to beat the charges they are facing.
Here at the Simmrin Law Group, our driving without insurance lawyers can help by:
- Attending interviews with police and prosecutors
- Building a strong defense for your charges
- Blocking evidence against you and monitoring the police investigation
Weakening the prosecution’s case can make it easier to secure a win in your case. In some cases, the professionals at the Simmrin Law Group may even be able to get your case dismissed entirely, so you don’t have to worry about any fines or other penalties.
Get Dedicated Support from a Criminal Defense Lawyer in Torrance
The legal team at the Simmrin Law Group has experience helping clients facing driving without insurance charges. Let our lawyers go over all of your legal options. Your case could be dismissed if we can prove that you should never have been stopped by a police officer in the first place.
We may also be able to resolve your case quickly if you were operating an off-highway vehicle, a government vehicle, or a special equipment vehicle. These vehicles are not covered by California’s driving without insurance laws.
Building a defense quickly can improve your odds of resolving a driving without insurance charge effectively so you can move forward with your life without dealing with fines.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Speak with a Torrance Driving Without Insurance Lawyer Immediately
Accusations of driving without insurance can lead to steep fines in Torrance. Fortunately, you can get legal help dealing with these charges by contacting the Simmrin Law Group now. Our team of driving without insurance lawyers in Torrance is standing by to help you handle your case. Let us get started with a FREE case evaluation.
You can start defending yourself by completing our online contact form or calling (310) 997-4688.