It is against the law to use belt buckle knives (BBKs) in California. In fact, individuals are not even allowed to possess these weapons in most circumstances. Individuals who are caught with belt buckle knives can face charges under Penal Code 20410.
California treats PC 20410 as either a misdemeanor or a felony. This means that PC 20410 is considered a wobbler charge. The Simmrin Law Group can provide you with further information about wobblers and how to fight them. Get legal answers today by reaching out to us at (310) 997-4688.
Understanding Belt Buckle Knives
BBKs are a specific kind of bladed weapon. According to Penal Code 16260, BBKs are knives that:
- Are made of a part of a belt buckle WITH
- A blade that is at least two and a half inches long
Technically, a BBK must contain an “integral” part of a belt buckle. This can mean the buckle itself, for example. However, a screw or rivet from a belt buckle may not be considered “integral” by the court system. Get further clarification from a lawyer today and give the Simmrin Law Group a call.
PC 20410 Charges in California
PC 16260 defines BBKs for the state of California. PC 20410, on the other hand, details the criminal charges you can face for actions taken with these knives. For instance, under PC 20410, individuals can face criminal charges if they:
- Create a BBK in California
- Import a BBK into the state
- Lend or give a BBK to another person
- Sell a BBK to someone
Additionally, simply possessing a BBK is against the law in California. This is because BBKs are considered a “prohibited” weapon in this state. Only authorized individuals can own, sell, or give away BBKs. Generally, law enforcement officers are allowed to handle these weapons. Private citizens, however, are not usually allowed to have a BBK.
Other Charges Like PC 20410 in the State of California
There are many types of prohibited weapons in California. Individuals who possess a prohibited weapon can face criminal prosecution. Depending on the type of weapon, the state can levy charges involving:
- Air gauge knives
- Cane swords
- Lipstick case knives
- Writing pen knives
- Ballistic knives
The state also prohibits the ownership of certain blunt weapons. Some individuals are allowed to own firearms. However, they must get the proper permits before obtaining firearms. Some automatic firearms are not allowed in our state.
The Simmrin Law Group understands weapon restrictions in California and can help if you have questions. Just call (310) 997-4688 today.
PC 20410 Charges and Their Penalties in California
PC 20410 is a wobbler charge. This means that prosecutors can treat wobblers as either misdemeanors or felonies. Misdemeanors generally result in less severe penalties. However, a misdemeanor conviction can still lead to fines of up to $1,000. Individuals can also face up to one year behind bars.
The court system in California treats felonies more seriously. A felony conviction can result in incarceration for up to three years and fines of up to $10,000.
Note that the court system sometimes offers probation after a PC 20410 conviction. Probation allows individuals to remain out of jail or prison but must obey all orders issued by the court. Else, they can be imprisoned for not following the rules while on probation.
Defenses Against Charges Involving BBKs
Many defenses can help you if you have been charged under PC 20410. Our team can step in and help you right away. Get the comprehensive help you want from a criminal defense lawyer in Los Angeles. We can work to argue that:
- You didn’t have a BBK
- You didn’t give away or sell a BBK
- You didn’t bring a BBK into the state
If applicable, we can also help you show that you were legally allowed to own a BBK. Some individuals, like law enforcement officers, are exempt from prosecution for PC 20410 charges.
Speak to a Lawyer About How to Fight Penal Code 20410 Charges Right Now
Don’t wait to get legal help if you were charged under Penal Code 20410 in California. Take steps to get the legal assistance you need by contacting the Simmrin Law Group. We understand how California treats belt buckle knife charges, and we’ll put our experience to work for you today. Just contact us for a free consultation at (310) 997-4688. You can also complete our online contact form.