Cane swords are an example of a prohibited weapon in California. These weapons look like normal canes, however they have a sharp, bladed object inside of them. Even possessing a cane sword (CS) can lead to criminal charges in California.
Individuals can face either misdemeanor or felony charges under Penal Code 20510 for offenses involving cane swords. Find out more about how to fight these charges with the Simmrin Law Group. Call (310) 997-4688 today to get in touch with a member of our team.
The Definition of a Cane Sword
Many individuals in California use canes to help them get around. While California, of course, allows individuals to legally own canes, some canes are designed to be used as weapons.
Cane swords have a sword inside them that can be pulled out. These canes are not allowed in the state of California. Possessing a cane with a sword contained inside it is a criminal offense in this state.
Acts Prohibited Under Penal Code 20510
PC 20510 restricts the usage of cane swords throughout the state of California. PC 20510 also makes it illegal to own or possess a CS. Specifically, this section of the legal code makes it illegal to:
- Import a CS
- Construct a CS
- Give away a CS
- Sell a CS
As you can see, individuals are not allowed to possess or transfer their ownership of a CS in the state of California. Note that individuals can face additional charges if they try to use a CS to harm another person. This can result in charges for an assault with a deadly weapon. In certain situations, an individual could even face charges for attempted murder.
Learn more about how to fight these serious criminal charges with the Simmrin Law Group. A violent crimes lawyer in Los Angeles can answer your questions right now. Call a member of our team today at (310) 997-4688.
Penalties for a PC 20510 Conviction
Not all PC 20510 accusations are handled the same way in California. This is because this charge is considered a “wobbler.” Wobblers are treated as either misdemeanors or felonies, depending on:
- The facts of the case
- The accused’s criminal record
The prosecution decides how to process PC 20510 charges in the California court system. A misdemeanor conviction under PC 20510, for instance, can result in:
- Fines of up to $1,000
- Jail time of up to one year
Individuals face harsher penalties if they are convicted of a felony. Convictions can lead to:
- Fines of up to $10,000
- Incarceration of up to three years
Find out more about these penalties with the team at the Simmrin Law Group.
Additional Charges for Restricted Weapons in California
Cane swords are only one example of a restricted weapon in California. The state prohibits the possession or sale of several other types of weapons, including other bladed weapons. Examples of other weapon charges include:
- Belt buckle knives
- Lipstick case knives
California also restricts the ownership of explosives and certain firearms. Even blunt objects like nunchucks are restricted in our state.
Defenses Against Penal Code 20510 Charges in California
A criminal defense lawyer in Los Angeles can help if you are accused of a crime involving a CS. Depending on the facts of your case, our team can argue that:
You Didn’t Have a Cane Sword
Only certain items are considered cane swords in California. Perhaps you own a cane or a sword. These items are not automatically considered “cane swords.” We can help you prove the object in your possession is not, in fact, a cane sword.
You Are Allowed to Have or Sell a Cane Sword
Some people in California are exempt from PC 20510 charges. Generally, members of law enforcement should not face prosecution under PC 20510. These individuals are legally allowed to transfer ownership of a CS in some situations. Find out more about PC 20510 exemptions by contacting us right now.
Contact a Lawyer About Fighting Charges Involving Cane Swords Today
Reach out to the Simmrin Law Group if you are facing Penal Code 20510 charges. Our team understands criminal charges involving cane swords and can help if you have been accused of possessing, making, or selling a CS. Find out how by contacting our criminal defense lawyers in Los Angeles at (310) 997-4688. You can also fill out our online contact form today for a free consultation.