Sex crime accusations are dominating the news around the nation today. Many of these charges of sexual abuse and sexual misconduct are from victims who deserve justice, but others are false accusations that can ruin the lives of innocent people.
You can get help fighting any sex crime charge from the Simmrin Law Group. Our skilled sex crimes lawyers in Carson, California, have experience helping clients just like you. We understand what you’re going through and how to build your defense for the courtroom.
Sex Crimes Involving Minors in Carson
Individuals who are accused of child molestation or child sexual abuse can face harsh penalties in the legal system. It can be difficult to receive fair treatment in the face of these charges. You can also be severely punished if you are dealing with charges related to:
- Child Pornography
- Seduce or Solicit a Minor
- Traveling to Meet a Minor
- Unlawful Sexual Activity with a Minor
Any sex crime against a minor can lead to years of incarceration. As with many other sex crimes, you could also be ordered to pay restitution to the victim if you are convicted. It’s important that you get legal help on your side right away. You can take charge of your future by contacting a criminal defense lawyer in Carson today.
For a free legal consultation with a lawyer serving Carson, call (310) 928-9347
Sex Crimes Related to Rape in Carson
Rape is one of the most severe sex crime charges you could face in Carson. Individuals who force someone else into a sex act can be charged with rape. Rape also occurs if an individual is coerced into sexual intercourse through:
- The use of drugs or intoxication
You can be charged with rape for taking advantage of an individual that is asleep or unconscious. You could face up to 13 years in prison if you are convicted of raping an adult. The penalties for raping a child are more severe.
Some individuals may also be accused of date rape. Date rape is a term used to describe non-consensual sex acts between two people who were romantically involved. The state of California does not punish date rape differently than other forms of rape.
Individuals who have sexual intercourse with people under the age of 18 can be charged with statutory rape. You can face this charge even if the minor consented to the sex act or initiated it.
Sexual battery occurs when someone forces unwanted sexual touching on another individual. Sexual battery does not cover non-consensual intercourse, so it is not punished as severely as rape. You can be fined $2,000 and sent to jail for 1 year if you are convicted of sexual battery.
Criminal Defense Lawyer Near Me (310) 928-9347
Additional Sex Crime Charges
Individuals in Carson, CA can also be charged with:
Indecent exposure involves intentionally exposing a private area while in public. You could face misdemeanor or felony charges if you are accused of indecent exposure in Carson. A conviction for indecent exposure can result in:
- $1,000 – $10,000 in fines
- 6 months in jail to 3 years in prison
You can be charged with lewd conduct if you:
- Ask someone to touch your private parts in public
- Touch your private parts in public
- Touch someone else’s private parts in public
You could end up facing these penalties if convicted of lewd conduct:
- $1,000 in fines
- 6 months in jail
Prostitution involves accepting payment from another person in return for a sex act. Solicitation of a prostitute is also a crime in California. If you offer someone payment in exchange for a sexual favor, you are soliciting a prostitute.
Both prostitution and solicitation of a prostitute can lead to:
- $1,000 in fines
- 180 days in jail
Human trafficking is a very serious act that occurs when a person deprives a victim of his or her liberty and forces them to break the law in some way. Human trafficking often involves sexual exploitation, pimping, or child pornography.
A conviction for human trafficking can lead to:
- $500,000 in fines
- 5 years to life in prison
Failure to Register as a Sex Offender
In many cases, you must join California’s sex offender registry if convicted of a sex crime. Failure to register as a sex offender is considered a criminal act. You can be subjected to these penalties if you are convicted for failing to join the sex offender registry:
- $1,000 – $10,000 in fines
- 1 year in jail to 3 years in prison
Get the Help You Need to Deal with a Sex Crimes Charge in Carson, CA
It’s easy to be overwhelmed by a sex crimes charge. You need professional guidance to effectively deal with your charges. You can get the advice you need from the Simmrin Law Group. Our sex crimes lawyers in Carson can take on your case right now with a FREE consultation.
Let us support you by calling (310) 997-4688 or filling out our online contact form.