A weapons charge may not seem serious, but you can face serious repercussions for improperly using a firearm or weapon. The court system in El Monte can charge you with a misdemeanor or a felony for a weapons charge. A weapons charge conviction can lead to high fines and time spent in jail or prison.
Weapons charges can result in difficult courtroom battles and harsh penalties. You don’t have to face this legal challenge on your own. A skilled criminal defense lawyer in El Monte can help you build a defense while offering you support in and out of the courtroom.
Weapons Charges and the Court System in El Monte
You could face several specific charges if you are accused of a weapons offense in El Monte, such as:
- Unlicensed Sale of Firearms
- Carrying a Loaded Firearm
- Carrying a Concealed Weapon
- Brandishing a Weapon
Individuals in El Monte can also be charged with negligent discharge. Depending on your circumstances, you might face charges associated with California’s felon with a firearm law. You might have to deal with misdemeanor or felony charges for weapons offenses.
Handling a weapons charge requires experience and skill. You can count on the Simmrin Law Group to provide you with expert advice and legal support. We understand the court system in El Monte and can help you beat the prosecutors you’ll face.
For a free legal consultation with a Criminal Defense lawyer serving El Monte, call (310) 928-9347
Unlicensed Sale of Firearms in El Monte
Only individuals with a special license are allowed to sell, lease, or transfer the ownership of a firearm in El Monte. You can be charged with a misdemeanor for the unlicensed sale of firearms.
There are several exceptions to the laws surrounding the sale of firearms, but they are complicated and governed by the state. You can be penalized severely if you sell a firearm without a license. Each firearm that you sell can lead to 6 months of jail time and fines of $1,000.
Criminal Defense Lawyer Near Me (310) 928-9347
El Monte’s Laws on Carrying a Loaded or Concealed Weapon
Most people are not allowed to carry a firearm in public in El Monte. You can face serious criminal charges for carrying firearms, including:
- Carrying a Concealed Weapon
- Carrying a Loaded Firearm
El Monte considers any weapon that utilizes an explosive propellant to be a loaded firearm, even weapons like tasers or antique guns. A firearm does not actually have to be operational for you to be charged with carrying a loaded gun.
Carrying a concealed weapon is also illegal in El Monte. You can be severely penalized if you are found with a firearm concealed on your person or in your vehicle. Note that if you have a concealed carry permit you are allowed to carry a concealed weapon.
The penalties for carrying a loaded or concealed weapon can be very high. You could be charged with a misdemeanor or a felony. A conviction for carrying a concealed or loaded weapon can lead to 3 years of time in jail and $10,000 in fines.
Make sure that you get the legal advice you need to properly handle a charge for carrying a concealed or leaded weapon by contacting a weapons charges lawyer today.
Click to contact our Criminal Defense Lawyers today
Brandishing a Deadly Weapon in California
Individuals brandish a deadly weapon by displaying or taking out a weapon in a way that is threatening, rude, or angry. You can also be charged with brandishing a deadly weapon for drawing a weapon while you’re in the middle of an argument or a fight.
El Monte defines many objects as deadly weapons, including:
- Beer Bottles
- Power Tools
- Baseball Bats
- Incendiary Devices
Brandishing a deadly weapon can lead to misdemeanor, aggravated misdemeanor, or felony charges in El Monte. A conviction for brandishing a deadly weapon can result in high fines and up to 3 years spent in a state prison.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Negligent Discharge Laws in El Monte
You can be charged with negligent discharge if you fire a gun with gross irresponsibility. Individuals show irresponsibility by firing a gun in a way that could injure or kill someone else.
Negligent discharge can be treated as a misdemeanor or a felony by the court system in El Monte. You could end up left with $10,000 in fines and sentenced to 3 years in jail if you are convicted of negligent discharge.
Dealing with a negligent discharge accusation on your own can lead to severe repercussions. Working with a weapons charges lawyer you can trust can improve your odds of success in the courtroom.
El Monte’s Felon with a Firearm Law
The “felon with a firearm” law restricts gun ownership for certain groups. This means that you cannot legally possess a firearm if you are a:
- Convicted Felon
- Narcotics Addict
People who are under some restraining or protective orders are also prohibited from firearm ownership. You could face misdemeanor or felony charges for breaking the felon with a firearm law. You might end up sentenced to 3 years in jail and fined $10,000 if you are convicted.
You could also face federal gun charges in certain situations. The federal court system will handle your case if you used a gun to commit certain crimes or in a way that connects to an ongoing federal investigation.
Get the Help You Need with a Weapons Charges Lawyer in El Monte
A weapons charge can be difficult to handle on your own. Trying to fight experienced prosecutors without legal help can be disastrous. You can count on the weapons charges lawyers of the Simmrin Law Group to give you the support you need. We have a reputation for success and we’re ready to help you. You can get expert advice right away with a FREE consultation.
You can contact us by filling out the form on the right or calling (310) 997-4688.