You can be charged with driving under the influence (DUI) in your home state or in other states, if you are traveling. In many cases, handling an out-of-state DUI accusation can be especially challenging. Convictions can still lead to fines, jail time, and restrictions on your driving privileges.
Fortunately, you can get professional help handling an out-of-state DUI charge in California from the Simmrin Law Group. Use this article to review your options if you were arrested for a DUI in California if you’re from out of state. Call (310) 896-2723 for additional help.
DUI Arrests for Out-of-State Drivers in California
Let’s focus on what will happen if you’re arrested for a DUI in California as an out-of-state driver. At the time of your arrest, a law enforcement officer will carry out blood alcohol content (BAC) testing. Note that driving in California signifies that you consent to complete:
- All BAC testing after a lawful arrest
- Preliminary alcohol screening (PAS) tests if you are under 21 or on DUI probation
Refusal to complete a legally ordered BAC test in California can lead to legal repercussions. If you are arrested, the officer will notify you that your driving privileges in the state will be suspended after 30 days.
Additionally, the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will be notified about your arrest. It is likely that the DMV in your home state will be contacted as well, leading to a license suspension.
For a free legal consultation, call (310) 896-2723
The Interstate Driver’s License Compact (DLC) and DUI Charges
Most states around the country are part of the DLC. This agreement allows states to freely share information about a driver’s record. The only states that do not participate in the DLC agreement are:
The DLC allows the DMV of your home state to quickly find out about a DUI in California. The DMV can then choose to suspend your license. In many cases, your state will suspend your license in accordance with a recommendation from California. In other situations, your license may only be suspended if you are convicted.
Out-of-State Drivers Can Protect Their Driver’s License
You do not have to just accept a license suspension if you get a DUI in California. You can request a hearing with the DMV within 10 days of your arrest. This hearing allows you to dispute any restrictions on your license.
A criminal defense lawyer in Los Angeles can help you handle a hearing with the California DMV. Getting help from a legal professional who understands California’s legal codes is very important. Call (310) 896-2723 to speak to the Simmrin Law Group about the best way to handle a DMV hearing.
Click to contact our Criminal Defense Lawyers today
Criminal Charges for DUIs in the State of California
You will not only face a DMV hearing if you are arrested for a DUI in California. You can also face a number of different criminal charges. The California court system can use a number of charges to prosecute you, based upon:
- Your age at the time of your arrest
- The amount of alcohol in your system
- Your status as a commercial or non-commercial driver
California utilizes a number of penalties for DUI convictions. Based upon the charges you are facing, you could be sentenced to:
- High fines
- Time in jail
- The loss of your driving privileges
Note that you are legally required to address any out-of-state DUI charges you are facing. Ignoring your DUI arrest could even result in additional charges for failure to appear. Leaving the state will not legally resolve a DUI charge against you.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Handle California DUI Charges with Professional Help
A Los Angeles DUI lawyer can help if you are arrested for a DUI in California, even if you live out-of-state. A professional lawyer can review the facts surrounding your case to build a strong defense. The Simmrin Law Group may argue that:
- You were not actually driving while impaired
- You were stopped without due cause
- You were subjected to improper BAC testing
Take charge of an out-of-state DUI accusation in California by contacting a team of legal professionals today.
Speak to a Lawyer About an Out-of-State DUI in California
You can face criminal charges if you were arrested for a DUI in California, even if you’re from out-of-state. You can also get fast help by reaching out to the Simmrin Law Group. You can improve your odds of successfully resolving a DUI charge by contacting us now. Just call (310) 896-2723 or fill out our online contact form.
Get a FREE case evaluation about your out-of-state DUI charges from our DUI lawyers in Los Angeles today.