Drivers in Hawthorne can face serious legal consequences for breaking the rules of the road. One of the most severely punished traffic violations is tied to driving under the influence (DUI). A DUI conviction can cost you in fines, jail time, and the loss of your license.
However, you do not have to face DUI charges on your own. You can get help from the professionals at the Simmrin Law Group right now. Our DUI lawyers in Hawthorne can go over the specifics of your case and begin working on your defense immediately.
Understanding DUI Charges in Hawthorne
DUIs can be difficult to fully understand. For example, many drivers believe that the legal limit for their blood alcohol content (BAC) is 0.08 percent in California. In fact, this is only the case for non-commercial drivers over the age of 21.
Drivers under the age of 21 can face DUI charges if they operate a vehicle with a BAC of even 0.01%. Commercial drivers must keep their BAC below 0.04% to avoid DUI charges. Additionally, if someone is driving dangerously while under the influence of drugs or alcohol, they can face criminal charges regardless of their BAC percentage.
The professionals at the Simmrin Law Group can help you understand how California’s DUI laws apply in your unique situation. You can reach out to our criminal defense lawyers in Hawthorne now, to ensure that you have a firm grasp on the charges you are facing.
Hawthorne’s Penalties for a DUI Conviction
You can end up facing harsh penalties for even a first-time DUI conviction in Hawthorne. DUI charges can also be complicated because the penalties will grow worse for subsequent DUI convictions. Depending on the number of DUI charges you have faced, you could be sentenced to:
- Fines of up to $3,000
- Jail Time of up to 1 Year
- License Suspension of up to 3 Years
Note that these penalties could be even higher is someone is hurt or killed due to an accident caused by a driver operating a vehicle under the influence. Make sure you take the charges against you seriously by reaching out to a DUI lawyer in Hawthorne right away.
DUI Charges and the Hawthorne Department of Motor Vehicles
Drivers who are accused of a DUI generally have to face two separate trials. You will need to deal with a criminal trial as well as a hearing with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). The DMV can actually suspend your license if you do not request a hearing within 10 days of a DUI charge.
The Simmrin Law Group can help you handle any hearings tied to DUI charges. We understand how important your driving privileges are for you. Let us work hard to ensure that you maintain them after a DUI.
Changes to California’s Rules on License Suspensions in 2019
You should be aware that the state of California recently updated some rulings on license suspensions after a DUI. In some cases, you may be allowed to continue driving on a restricted license if you install an ignition interlock device (IID).
An IID will prevent your vehicle from starting unless you breathe into it, so it can measure your BAC. If your BAC is too high, your vehicle will not operate. Find out if accepting an IID is right for your situation by speaking with a DUI lawyer today.
Successfully Handling DUI Charges in Hawthorne
You do not simply have to accept a DUI accusation and the penalties associated with a conviction. A DUI lawyer may be able offer you the help you need by:
Securing an Appropriate Plea Bargain
Many DUI charges can be reduced to more acceptable charges with a plea bargain. Your lawyer could be able to secure you a ‘dry reckless’ charge, which comes with lower penalties. Dry reckless charges are also not priorable, which means you will not face increased penalties if you are pulled over for another DUI at a later date.
Fighting to Win Your Case in Court
Your lawyer may also be able to defend you in court. Depending on your situation, your lawyer could argue that the police had no reason to stop you, or that the chemical tests that measured your BAC returned inaccurate results.
You can get the help you need to handle a DUI charge by reaching out to a professional legal team today.
Call a Hawthorne DUI Lawyer Right Now
The help you need to boost your odds of beating a DUI charge is available today. You can reach the Simmrin Law Group’s DUI lawyers in Hawthorne if you are facing your first DUI charge, or if you’ve been charged with a DUI before. Call us at (310) 997-4688, or complete our online contact form to learn more.
We can offer you a FREE case evaluation to go over your legal options.