Property crimes, or acts that cause damage to someone else’s property, are handled seriously by the court system in Pasadena. These acts may be treated as infractions, misdemeanors, or felonies. You could be forced to pay high fines and even sent to jail or prison if you are convicted of a property crime.
Facing a property crimes charge on your own can end up making things worse. Get proactive about your defense by working with an experienced property crimes lawyer in Pasadena. The legal professionals of the Simmrin Law Group can help you build a case and protect your future.
Fight Against Property Crime Charges in Pasadena
The court system in Pasadena considers several specific acts to be property crimes, including:
Most property crimes are either misdemeanors or felonies, though vandalism can sometimes be treated as an infraction. A property crime conviction can leave a mark on your record and impact your life for years to come.
A trained criminal defense lawyer can help you build a defense against any property crime charge you might face in Pasadena. Improve your chances for success in the courtroom by contacting a lawyer who understands the court system right away.
For a free legal consultation with a Criminal Defense lawyer serving Pasadena, call (310) 928-9347
Vandalism as a Property Crime
Vandalism is defined as defacing, damaging, or destroying the property of another person. Pasadena can charge acts of vandalism in the following ways:
- Infraction. You can be charged with an infraction if you did less than $250 in damage. You could face a fine of $1,000 if convicted of an infraction.
- Misdemeanor. Misdemeanor vandalism occurs if you do between $250-$400 in damage, or if you repeatedly commit smaller acts of vandalism. A conviction can lead to $3,000 in fines and jail time.
- Felony. A felony charge for vandalism is used when more than $400 in damage is committed. You could face 3 years in prison if convicted for felony vandalism.
Taking a vandalism charge seriously can mean the difference between success and failure in court. Make sure you have expert help on your side by working with a skilled property crimes lawyer.
Criminal Defense Lawyer Near Me (310) 928-9347
Trespassing Charges in California
You can be charged with trespassing if you enter someone’s land or property without their permission. Basic trespass is treated as an infraction that can lead to small fines if you are convicted. There are two other charges commonly used to prosecute trespassing in Pasadena:
- Criminal Trespass. You can be charged with criminal trespass if you go into someone’s property with the intent to damage or interfere with it. Criminal trespass is a misdemeanor. You can be sent to jail or charged with $1,000 in fines if convicted of criminal trespass.
- Aggravated Trespass. An aggravated trespass charge is used when you threaten someone and then enter their property. You will face felony charges if accused of aggravated trespass. An aggravated trespass conviction can lead to 3 years in jail.
Click to contact our Criminal Defense Lawyers today
Charges of Burglary in Pasadena
Burglary is defined as entering a building, room, or locked vehicle in order to carry out petty theft or another felony. You can face two criminal charges if you are accused of burglary in California:
- Second Degree Burglary. Second degree burglary occurs if you enter a business to steal something or commit a crime. This is also called commercial burglary. Second degree burglary can be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony.
- First Degree Burglary. You can be charged with first degree burglary if you break into a private home. The court system also uses the term residential burglary to refer to first degree burglary. Residential burglary is always a felony.
A burglary charge can be difficult to fight because you do not have to actually steal anything to be convicted. Building a case with the help of an experienced property crimes lawyer can give you a fighting chance in court.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Pasadena’s Arson Charges
You can be charged with arson for deliberately starting a fire in Pasadena. The court system uses two charges to deal with arson:
- Reckless Burning. A charge of reckless burning is used when someone sets a fire with no intention of malice. The fire could be set because of a mental illness or just for the thrill of it. Pasadena can use misdemeanor or felony charges to prosecute reckless burning.
- Malicious Arson. Malicious arson charges apply if a fire is maliciously started. You can be charged with malicious arson if you set a fire to damage property, harm someone, or carry out fraud. Malicious arson is always treated as a felony by the court system.
You can end up facing serious penalties if convicted of arson. Depending on your situation, you could be fined more than $50,000 and you could be sent to prison for more than a decade.
Protect Your Future from Property Crimes Charges
You can improve your chances of fighting a property crime charge in court by contacting a skilled property crimes lawyer right away. The Simmrin Law Group understands the court system in Pasadena and has a history of winning cases for clients. Find out what we can do for you by taking advantage of our FREE consultation. You can fill out the form on the right or call us at (310) 997-4688 to start building your defense.