Weapons charges are used to prosecute individuals who misuse firearms. You can also face weapons charges for using other implements in a threatening way. The court system can treat a weapons charge as a misdemeanor or a felony. A weapons charge conviction can result in high fines and incarceration.
It can be hard to fight against a weapons charge without extensive legal training. Make sure you get the help you need to build a defense by working with an experienced weapons charges lawyer in Pasadena. You can get advice and excellent care from the Simmrin Law Group.
Work with a Weapons Charges Lawyer to Defend Yourself
The court system in Pasadena can throw harsh penalties at individuals convicted of weapons charges. You could face misdemeanor or felony charges for the following acts:
- Carrying a Loaded Weapon
- Carrying a Concealed Weapon
- Brandishing a Weapon
- Negligent Discharge
You could also be charged with the unlicensed sale of firearms. The felon with a firearm charge is also used in Pasadena.
Any weapons charge can lead to serious repercussions, including jail time and hefty fines. You can bolster your defense by contacting a criminal defense lawyer as soon as possible. A weapons charges lawyer can fight for you in and out of the courtroom.
For a free legal consultation with a Criminal Defense lawyer serving Pasadena, call (310) 928-9347
Charges for Carrying a Weapon in Pasadena
You are only allowed to carry a loaded or concealed firearm publicly in Pasadena if you have a permit. If you are caught carrying a firearm without a permit, you could face the following charges:
- Carrying a Loaded Firearm
- Carrying a Concealed Weapon
The charges for carrying a firearm apply to any weapon that uses an explosive propellant. You can be convicted for carrying a loaded firearm even if your weapon will not fire. Note that you are also not legally allowed to carry an unloaded firearm openly in public in California without a permit.
You can be charged with a misdemeanor or a felony for carrying either a loaded or a concealed firearm. A conviction could result in $10,000 in fines and up to 3 years in jail.
Criminal Defense Lawyer Near Me (310) 928-9347
California’s Brandishing a Deadly Weapon Charge
An individual brandishes a deadly weapon by angrily displaying or taking out a weapon. You can also be charged with brandishing a deadly weapon if you draw a weapon in a threatening way, or if you pull it out during a fight without intending to use it for protection.
There are many instruments that are considered deadly weapons in Pasadena, such as:
- Swords or Knives
- Baseball Bats
- Power Tools
No matter what weapon you use, you could be charged with a misdemeanor, aggravated misdemeanor, or felony for brandishing a deadly weapon. You could be sent to prison for 3 years and face high fines if you are convicted. You could also have your firearm confiscated.
Make sure you get the legal representation you need to defend yourself by contacting a weapons charges lawyer right away.
Click to contact our Criminal Defense Lawyers today
Negligent Discharge in Pasadena
Negligent discharge occurs when someone fires a gun in a way that is grossly negligent and that could lead to the injury or death of another person. Any act of negligent discharge must be intentional in order for you to be convicted.
The court system in Pasadena can treat negligent discharge as either a misdemeanor or a felony. You will face severe penalties if convicted of negligent discharge, including up to 3 years in jail and fines of up to $10,000.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Charges for the Unlicensed Sale of Firearms
California considers selling, leasing, or transferring the ownership of a firearm to be illegal unless you have the appropriate license. If you sell a gun without a license, you can be charged with the unlicensed sale of firearms.
There are a few exceptions to the laws governing the unlicensed sale of firearms, but they are difficult to understand. A mistake can lead to misdemeanor charges. You could end up faced with 6 months of jail time for each firearm you sell, lease, or transfer if you are convicted of the unlicensed sale of firearms.
Felon with a Firearm Charges and Federal Gun Crimes
California’s “felon with a firearm” law prohibits members of some groups from having a firearm in their possession. Under the “felon with a firearm” law, you cannot have a gun if you are a:
- Convicted Felon
- Narcotic Drug Addict
Some protective orders and restraining orders also forbid you from possessing a gun. You can be charged with a misdemeanor or a felony for having a firearm if you are member of any of these groups. A felon with a firearm conviction can lead to fines of $10,000 and up to 3 years in jail.
The federal court system handles some weapons charge in Pasadena. If your charges are tied to a federal investigation or if you used a gun to commit certain crimes, you could face federal charges. Federal gun charges are generally handled more severely than charges at the state level.
Any weapons charge can negatively impact your life for many years. Make sure that you pick a skilled weapons charges lawyer to build your defense on both the state and federal level.
Get Help from a Weapons Charges Lawyer
Weapons charges might not seem serious, but they can lead to lengthy periods of imprisonment and high fines. Take charge of your future by contacting a skilled weapons charges lawyer right away. The Simmrin Law Group can defend you from state and federal charges. We have experience handling a wide range of weapons charges and a history of successfully helping our clients.