You can end up facing high fines and a lengthy period of incarceration if you are convicted of a theft crime in Thousand Oaks. Fortunately, you can increase your odds of resolving a theft crime accusation in your favor by contacting the Simmrin Law Group right now.
Our team of theft crimes lawyers in Thousand Oaks can help you deal with charges for petty theft, grand theft, and robbery. Let us assess your needs right now so we can begin working on a strong defense to the charges you are facing.
Charges for Petty Theft in Thousand Oaks
You could be charged with petty theft if you are accused of taking under $950 indirectly from another person. Note that there are several major exceptions to this rule that we will discuss when we go over grand theft.
A conviction for petty theft can leave you facing:
- Jail time of up to six months
- Fines of up to $1,000
Note that the courts sometimes use more specific terms to refer to different types of petty theft. However, these acts are generally prosecuted in the same way as petty theft in Thousand Oaks, as long as the stolen items are worth under $950:
- Theft by fraud or trick
For a free legal consultation with a lawyer serving Thousand Oaks, call (310) 928-9347
Grand Theft and Grand Theft Auto Charges in California
Grand theft charges apply to more serious acts of theft. You may face grand theft charges if someone claims that you stole:
- More than $950 worth of any item
- More than $250 worth of aquacultural or agricultural products
- Any number of motor vehicles, firearms, or horses
You could also be charged with grand theft for directly taking money or property from someone else. A conviction for grand theft – or grand theft auto if you are accused of taking a motor vehicle – can lead to:
- Prison time of up to three years
- Fines of up to $10,000
Note that you may face additional years of time behind bars if you are accused of stealing vehicles worth more than $65,000. Take steps to avoid these serious penalties by contacting a criminal defense lawyer in Thousand Oaks as soon as you are charged with grand theft or grand theft auto.
Criminal Defense Lawyer Near Me (310) 928-9347
Understand “Joyriding” Charges in Thousand Oaks
You should be aware that grand theft auto is not the only charge used to prosecute individuals who take motor vehicles in California. You might also be charged with the unlawful taking of a motor vehicle, or joyriding.
Unlawful taking of a motor vehicle is generally considered less severe than grand theft auto. Prosecutors are more likely to treat joyriding as a misdemeanor level offense. When charged as a misdemeanor, a conviction for joyriding can lead to:
- Jail time of up to one year
- Fines of up to $5,000
However, the unlawful taking of a motor vehicle may be treated as a felony in some situations. A conviction, in this case, can lead to penalties that are very similar to those used in grand theft auto cases.
Robbery Accusations in Thousand Oaks
Robbery is a very serious theft crime in the state of California. All acts of robbery involve the use of force or fear to take items directly from another person. There are two different levels to robbery charges:
First-degree robbery is more serious than second-degree robbery. Individuals may be charged with first-degree robbery if they rob others while they are:
- In an inhabited structure
- Driving in a motor vehicle
- Near an ATM after using the ATM
The penalties for first-degree robbery can include fines of up to $10,000 and prison time of up to nine years.
As we mentioned, second-degree robbery is generally not treated as harshly as first-degree robbery. Second-degree robbery charges are used to prosecute acts of robbery that does not meet the definition of first-degree robbery.
You can be fined up to $10,000 and sent to prison for up to five years if you are convicted of second-degree robbery in Thousand Oaks. Let a criminal defense lawyer start working on your case right now if you are accused of any type of robbery.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
A Thousand Oaks Theft Crimes Lawyer Can Assist You
Dealing with a theft crime charge on your own can worsen your legal situation. Make sure you’re ready to handle these charges by contacting a theft crimes lawyer in Thousand Oaks fast after you are arrested. You can reach the Simmrin Law Group by calling (310) 997-4688 or filling out our online contact form.
Speak with us now and we can provide you with a FREE case evaluation.