The ownership, usage, and sale of weapons are strictly regulated in Thousand Oaks, CA. You can face criminal charges for something as simple as selling a firearm without the proper license in our area. To make matters more serious, weapons charges convictions often result in high fines and time in jail or prison.
Make sure that you address these charges right away by contacting a weapons charges lawyer in Thousand Oaks as soon as you are arrested. The team at the Simmrin Law Group can begin working on your defense right now.
Weapons Charges Related to Firearms Ownership
The U.S. Constitution grants citizens the right to keep and bear arms. However, this right may be revoked in certain circumstances. California uses the Felon with a Firearm law to revoke gun rights for people who are:
- Convicted of a felony
- Convicted of certain misdemeanors
- Mentally ill
- Under the age of 18
If you are found with a firearm after having your gun rights revoked, you can face criminal charges. You may also face federal charges for gun crimes if you are found with a weapon in certain situations.
For a free legal consultation with a lawyer serving Thousand Oaks, call (310) 928-9347
Charges Tied to Selling Firearms in Thousand Oaks
You must also follow state regulations when selling, leasing, or otherwise transferring the ownership of a firearm in Thousand Oaks. The state of California requires you to obtain special licenses before you can sell a firearm legally.
If you sell, lease, or transfer a firearm without the proper licensing, you can face jail time of up to six months and fines of up to $1,000. Note that these penalties apply to each firearm sold or transferred without a license. There are several exceptions to this rule. Find out if these exceptions apply to you by speaking with a criminal defense lawyer in Thousand Oaks.
Criminal Defense Lawyer Near Me (310) 928-9347
Criminal Charges for Carrying a Weapon in California
Residents of California can face serious criminal charges for carrying weapons while in public. Depending upon your situation, you could be accused of acts such as:
- Carrying a concealed weapon
- Carrying an unloaded firearm
- Carrying a loaded firearm
You could face misdemeanor or felony charges for these acts. Misdemeanor convictions can result in fines of up to $1,000 and jail time of up to one year. A felony conviction could lead to fines of up to $10,000 and prison time of up to three years.
Note that you may be able to avoid these charges if you have a concealed carry permit (CCP) that is valid in California. A weapons charges lawyer could also help build your defense to these charges if you are a member of the military, a police officer, a security guard, or a member of certain other groups that are exempted from these charges.
Charges Tied to the Illicit Use of Weapons in Thousand Oaks
Simply carrying a weapon while you are in public can lead to criminal charges in Thousand Oaks. Actually using a weapon in a way that could threaten the health and well-being of another person can also result in serious legal repercussions. Common charges tied to the misuse of weapons can include:
You may face charges for negligent discharge if you are accused of firing a gun in a way that is grossly negligent. This generally means intentionally firing a gun in a way that is likely to:
- Injure another person
- Kill another person
Negligent discharge convictions can result in fines of up to $10,000 and prison time of up to three years.
Brandishing a Weapon
The courts in Thousand Oaks uses the charge of brandishing a weapon to prosecute individuals who draw, display, take out a deadly weapon
- Around other people
- In a way that is threatening, angry, or rude
- During an argument or fight if they are not acting in self-defense
Deadly weapons can include firearms as well as other items like knives, clubs, and incendiary devices. Any tool that causes a grievous bodily injury could be considered a deadly weapon in the state of California. A conviction for brandishing a weapon could lead to three years of time in prison and high fines.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Get Help from a Thousand Oaks Weapons Charges Lawyer
You can improve your chances of beating a weapons charge in Thousand Oaks by contacting the Simmrin Law Group. Our team of professional weapons charges lawyers in Thousand Oaks can start working on your defense as soon as you complete our online contact form or call (310) 997-4688.
Get more information about how we can help by contacting us for a FREE initial case evaluation.