Individuals accused of property crimes in Carson can end up facing harsh penalties. The court system can punish you with steep fines and time in jail or prison if you are convicted. Fighting for your future can be a difficult challenge that can easily go wrong.
Luckily, you can get professional help on your side today. The Simmrin Law Group has experience helping clients accused of property crimes. Our property crimes lawyers in Carson can take on your case and start building your defense today.
Property Crimes in Carson: Trespassing
Trespassing charges can be brought against anyone who enters another person’s property without first getting permission. There are several unique charges used to handle different types of trespassing:
Basic trespassing is frequently charged as an infraction. It is usually punished with a small fine of not more than $100.
You could be charged with criminal trespass if you enter someone’s property while intending to interfere with it or damage it. You can also be charged if you actually cause damage or interference. This charge can result in $1,000 in fines and 6 months in jail.
The court defines aggravated trespass as entering a person’s workplace, home, or a place adjacent to their home after making a threat against them. You could end up sentenced to 3 years of time in jail if you are convicted of aggravated trespass.
Treating any trespassing charge seriously can increase your odds of winning in court. You can start building your case right away with a criminal defense lawyer in Carson. Make sure you’re ready for your day in court before it’s too late.
For a free legal consultation with a lawyer serving Carson, call (310) 928-9347
Property Crimes in Carson: Vandalism
People can be charged with vandalism if they damage, destroy, or deface the property of someone else. There are three charges used to prosecute vandalism:
Vandalism as an Infraction
You can be charged with an infraction if you cause less than $250 worth of damage. Note that you may face more serious charges if you repeatedly cause small amounts of damage. Vandalism infractions can be punished with fines of $1,000.
Vandalism as a Misdemeanor
Individuals who cause $250 – $400 in damage can be charged with a misdemeanor. You could be charged with a misdemeanor for causing smaller amounts of damage more than one time. You can be sentenced to a year of time in jail and fines of $1,000 if convicted of a misdemeanor.
Vandalism as a Felony
Vandalism can be charged as a felony if someone does more than $400 in damage. You can be fined and sent to prison for up to 3 years if you are convicted of felony vandalism.
Criminal Defense Lawyer Near Me (310) 928-9347
Property Crimes in Carson: Arson
California defines arson as intentionally starting a fire. Depending on your circumstances, you could be charged with:
Reckless burning occurs if someone sets a fire:
- For the thrill of it
- Due to a mental illness
Reckless burning is not undertaken to harm someone or out of cruelty, so the penalties for this act are less severe than other arson charges. You will likely face $1,000 in fines and 6 months of time in jail for minor instances of reckless burning. Your penalties could be higher based on your situation.
Individuals can be charged with malicious arson if they start a fire in order to:
- Damage property
- Hurt or kill another person
- Defraud an insurance company
Malicious arson is punished more severely than reckless burning in California. You could end up facing 16 months to 9 years of time in prison if you are convicted. You could also be fined more than $50,000 for a malicious arson conviction.
Getting help right away can improve your chances of beating an arson charge in California. Make sure you’re prepared by contacting a property crimes lawyer today.
Property Crimes in Carson: Burglary
Burglary occurs when someone:
- Enters a room, building, or locked vehicle
- While intending to commit petty theft or a felony
There are two major charges used to address burglary in Carson:
First Degree Burglary
Individuals can be charged with first degree burglary if they enter a private residence to commit a felony or petty theft. First degree burglary is charged very harshly. You can be sent to prison for 6 years and fined $10,000 if you are convicted of first degree burglary.
Second Degree Burglary
You could face charges for second degree burglary if you are accused of entering a business to carry out petty theft or a felony. Individuals charged with second degree burglary generally face less severe charges, including up to 3 years in prison.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
A Property Crimes Lawyer in Carson Can Help You
No matter the property crimes charge you’re facing, you can benefit from getting professional help. A property crimes lawyer in Carson, California, can take on your case and start building you a defense. You can count on the experienced lawyers of the Simmrin Law Group to provide you with the advice and support you need. Get started right now by contacting us for a FREE consultation.
Don’t delay. Start fighting back today by filling out our online contact form or calling (310) 997-4688.