You can end up in serious legal trouble if you are accused of a drug crime in California. While California’s laws regarding marijuana have changed recently, these crimes are still punished very severely. You can end up facing fines and incarceration if you are convicted.
Getting help right away from a drug crimes lawyer in Carson can increase the chances that you’ll win your case. You can count on the Simmrin Law Group to provide you with expert legal advice and support throughout your courtroom battle.
Marijuana Drug Crimes in Carson
California has recently taken steps to decriminalize the usage of marijuana in some cases. Legally, individuals over the age of 21 are now allowed to:
- Possess small amounts of marijuana
- Possess some concentrated cannabis
- Participate in marijuana cultivation
However, there are strict guidelines regarding these actions. You are only allowed to possess marijuana for your personal use, and you are not allowed to grow more than 6 marijuana plants.
You can still face criminal charges if you grow too much marijuana. You can also be arrested for intent to sell marijuana. The state forbids anyone from:
- Selling marijuana
- Giving marijuana away
- Importing marijuana
- Transporting marijuana to sell it
Depending on your circumstances, you could face these penalties if convicted of intent to sell marijuana:
- 6 months to 4 years in jail
- $500 in fines
You can get help understanding your exact legal situation by working with a criminal defense lawyer in Carson today. Make sure you’re ready for whatever the court system throws at you by getting professional help on your side before it’s too late.
For a free legal consultation with a lawyer serving Carson, call (310) 928-9347
Carson’s Laws on Drug Possession and Drug Paraphernalia
Drugs are considered illicit substances. A range of different drugs are restricted by the state, including a wide variety of:
In many cases, you can face criminal charges just for having small amounts of a drug for your own personal use. This charge is typically referred to as drug possession, though you could also be charged with specific offenses such as possession of meth or possession of Vicodin.
Drug possession is considered the most minor of drug charges in California. However, a drug possession conviction can still change your life. You can end up facing these penalties if you lose your case:
- 1 year of jail time
- $1,000 in fines
You can also face criminal charges for the possession of certain pieces of drug paraphernalia. Drug paraphernalia are tools commonly associated with the use of controlled substances. Examples include cocaine spoons, crack pipes, and some needles.
A drug paraphernalia conviction can lead to:
- 6 months of jail time
- $1,000 in fines
Criminal Defense Lawyer Near Me (310) 928-9347
Understanding Possession for Sale Charges in Carson
Possession for sale charges are used if the court thinks you had an illicit substance that you intended to sell to someone else. You do not actually have to be seen selling a drug to be charged with intent to sell. In fact, in many situations this charge is used because someone had:
- A lot of a particular drug
- Tools used to get drugs ready to sell
- Drugs packed into small bags
You can face harsher penalties if you are convicted of possession for sale in Carson, including:
- 2-4 years of jail time
- $20,000 in fines
Addressing a possession for sale charge immediately can increase the odds that you’ll be successful in court. Make sure that you get the help you need right away by contacting a drug crimes lawyer in Carson today.
Drug Trafficking Charges in California
Drug trafficking is the most severe drug crimes charge in Carson. In many ways, this charge is similar to possession for sale, however, it is generally punished much more severely. Drug trafficking generally involves moving specific amounts of controlled substances around with the intent to sell them.
The federal court system often prosecutes drug trafficking charges. Federal charges can be far more severe than charges in the state court system. You can end up left with these penalties if you are convicted of drug trafficking in Carson:
First Offense for Drug Trafficking
- 5-40 years of prison time
- $2 – 5 million in fines
Second Offense for Drug Trafficking
- 10 years to life in prison
- $4 – 8 million in fines
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Fight Against Drug Crime Charges Today
Getting professional help right away can increase the odds that you will win your court case. You can get the advice and assistance you need by contacting the Simmrin Law Group today for a FREE consultation. Our team of expert drug crime lawyers in Carson is ready to take on your case and build your defense.
Find out what we can do for you now by calling us at (310) 997-4688 or by filling out our online contact form.