If you’ve been charged with a violent crime in Carson, CA, you are not alone. Many people face these charges every day. A violent crimes charge can put you through the legal wringer, and a conviction could result in hefty fines or years of time in jail or prison.
You can take charge of your situation by contacting a skilled violent crimes lawyer in Carson today. The Simmrin Law Group can build your defense against any violent crimes charge. We have the experience needed to help you.
Assault as a Violent Crime in Carson
Definition of Assault
California defines assault as willfully using force that you knew could injure someone else. You do not actually have to cause an injury to be charged with assault. There are several charges used to handle different types of assault.
Penalties for Assault
The exact punishments for assault will depend on the charge you are facing. Below are some common examples of the repercussions for an assault conviction:
- Misdemeanor Assault. You can be charged with misdemeanor assault if you do not use a weapon against another person. This charge can lead to fines of $1,000 and 6 months in jail.
- Assault with a Firearm. Individuals charged with assault with a firearm can be fined $1,000 – $10,000. They can end up spending up to 4 years in state prison.
- Assault with a Deadly Weapon. You could end up sentenced to 4 years in prison and fined up to $10,000 if you are charged with assault with a deadly weapon in Carson.
For a free legal consultation with a lawyer serving Carson, call (310) 928-9347
Carson’s Charges for Battery
People can face battery charges if they willfully use force against someone else and cause an injury. Unlike assault, battery only takes place if someone else is injured. A battery conviction generally leads to $2,000 in fines and 6 months in jail. However, you could face harsher punishments for causing severe injuries or for battering a:
- Police Officer
- Other Law Enforcement Officer
You could also face charges for domestic battery in Carson, which is a type of domestic violence. Domestic battery involves harming:
- A person you’re living with
- A person you are or were dating
- A person you are or were engaged to
- Your child’s parent
- Your current or previous spouse
As with other examples of domestic violence, there are harsh penalties for domestic battery. You can end up in jail for 1 year and left with fines of $2,000. Additionally, you may have difficulties getting custody of your children or spousal support if you are convicted of domestic battery.
Any battery charge should be taken seriously. You can get ready to fight back in court by contacting a criminal defense lawyer in Carson today.
Criminal Defense Lawyer Near Me (310) 928-9347
Understanding Murder Charges in Carson
Definition of Murder
Murder is the most severely punished criminal act in California. The state defines murder as intentionally causing the death of another person without legal justification. This means that you should not face a murder charge if you killed someone in self-defense or by accident.
Penalties for Murder
There are two major charges used for the prosecution of murder. These charges come with different penalties. You could be charged with:
- First Degree Murder. Charges of first degree murder apply if a killing is premeditated. If someone plans out their actions and then kills someone else, they will likely face first degree murder charges. You can face the death penalty if convicted of first degree murder.
- Second Degree Murder. Individuals who kill another person without forethought can be charged with second degree murder. Carson treats second degree murder as less severe than first degree murder. However, convictions for second degree murder can still lead to life in prison.
Any murder charge can upend the rest of your life. You can improve your odds of success in court by getting immediate help from a professional violent crimes lawyer.
Build Your Defense with a Carson Violent Crimes Lawyer
It’s easy to let helplessness take over if you are charged with a violent crime, but you are not out of options. You can fight back with the help of a skilled violent crimes lawyer in Carson. Get the support you need from the Simmrin Law Group today. We’ll start working on your case right away with a FREE consultation.
Let the Simmrin Law Group help you. Call us at (310) 997-4688 or fill out our online contact form to get started.