Drivers under 21 can be charged with driving under the influence (DUI) in California. An under 21 DUI lawyer in Los Angeles can help drivers in this situation build a strong defense.
Under 21 DUI Lawyer In Los Angeles
Charges for driving under the influence (DUI) in California should always be taken seriously. You can face serious penalties for a DUI conviction, including:
- Jail time
- Driving restrictions
DUI charges can be especially serious for drivers under the age of 21. Fortunately, you don’t have to take on these charges on your own. You can get professional help from an under 21 DUI lawyer in Los Angeles now. Just contact the Simmrin Law Group by calling (310) 896-2723.
We Understand Under 21 DUI Charges
Drivers under 21 face special DUI regulations in California. While drivers over 21 may operate a vehicle as long as they keep their blood alcohol content (BAC) under 0.08%, California has a zero-tolerance policy for drivers under 21. This means that you can face DUI charges if your BAC is at or above 0.01%.
You could end up facing several different charges if you are accused of an under 21 DUI in California. Depending upon your situation, there are a number of charges that could be brought against you, including:
- Vehicle Code Section 23136
- Vehicle Code Section 23140
- Vehicle Code Section 23152
A criminal defense lawyer in Los Angeles can help you take on any under 21 DUI charges you’re facing. Let’s go over the details of these charges right now.
For a free legal consultation, call (310) 896-2723
VC 23136 Charges in California
VC 23136 charges are used to prosecute drivers under 21 with a very low BAC. Generally, you will not face fines or jail time if you are convicted under VC 23136, however, you can have your license suspended for a year for a first-time offense.
Note that your BAC may be assessed by a police officer if you are stopped while driving. Drivers under 21 in California MUST take any BAC tests requested by a law enforcement officer, including preliminary alcohol screening (PAS) tests.
VC 23140 Charges in California
You can face harsher charges if your BAC is between 0.05% and 0.07% while you are under 21 and behind the wheel. VC 23140 is used to prosecute drivers in this situation. A conviction under VC 23140 could lead to:
- Fines of up to $100
- License suspension of a year
- Alcohol education for up to three months
Click to contact our Criminal Defense Lawyers today
VC 23152 Charges in California
VC 23152 is considered the “basic” DUI charge used in the state of California. This charge can apply to all drivers with a BAC at or above 0.08%, regardless of their age. If you are accused of a VC 23152 violation, you need to get legal help quickly. Convictions can result in:
- Fines of up to $2,000
- Jail time of up to six months
You could also be required to install an ignition interlock device (IID) in your vehicle if your license is not suspended outright.
Note that there are many other charges used to prosecute DUIs in the state of California. You could face more serious charges if your BAC was unusually high or if someone was hurt while you were driving under the influence. You can also face DUI charges for driving under the influence of drugs while under 21.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Get Legal Help with Under 21 DUI Charges
Regardless of the DUI charges you are facing, a legal professional can help you build a strong defense. An under 21 DUI lawyer in Los Angeles can begin assessing your situation today. Contact the team at the Simmrin Law Group and we can:
- Protect you during questioning by prosecutors
- Ensure law enforcement officers respect your rights
- Gather evidence to strengthen your defense
- Negotiate with prosecutors to reduce your charges
- Take steps to defend you if your case goes to court
Drivers who get help quickly from a legal professional are more likely to successfully resolve DUI charges in California. Your lawyer could be able to get your charges dismissed in some cases, allowing you to move forward without a DUI charge hanging over your head.
Under 21 DUI lawyers could also be able to secure you a fair plea bargain. Accepting a less severe charge to secure reduced penalties is often the best way to handle DUI accusations. Learn more about your options by reaching out to us now for help.
Contact a Los Angeles Under 21 DUI Lawyer Now
You can get fast help to handle under 21 DUI charges in California by contacting the Simmrin Law Group. Our team of under 21 DUI lawyers are ready to begin working on your case right now. You can begin focusing on your defense today with a FREE consultation.
Take charge of your future by completing our online contact form or calling (310) 896-2723.