The ownership, sale, and usage of weapons are heavily regulated throughout California. Breaking any of the state’s many laws can lead to weapons charges. The penalties for a weapons charge conviction can include incarceration and high fines.
You have options if you’re facing a weapons charge. Getting professional help right away from a weapons charges lawyer in Huntington Beach means you’ll be more likely to win your case. The Simmrin Law Group has years of experience winning weapons charges cases. We can defend you no matter what accusations you’re facing.
Firearm Ownership and the Law
Many individuals are guaranteed the right to own firearms by the Constitution. However, this right may be revoked in certain circumstances. California’s “felon with a firearm” law states that the following individuals may not possess guns of any kind:
- Narcotic Drug Addicts
- Convicted Felons
Individuals with certain protective or restraining orders are also forbidden from firearm ownership, along with people who are convicted of:
- Some Misdemeanors
- Felony Federal Crimes
- Crimes Punished with at Least 30 Days in Federal Prison
You may end up fined $10,000 and sent to jail for up to 3 years if convicted under the felon with a firearm law.
Note that California also restricts the ownership of some kinds of firearms for all citizens. For example, you are not currently allowed to buy assault rifles in the state.
For a free legal consultation with a Criminal Defense lawyer serving Huntington Beach, call (310) 928-9347
Regulations on Firearms Sales in Huntington Beach
California requires individuals to have a license before they can legally sell or transfer the ownership of firearms. The unlicensed sale of firearms can lead to $1,000 in fines and up to 6 months of jail time for every firearm sold.
There are several exceptions to the laws surrounding the sale of firearms, but they are incredibly complicated. A criminal defense lawyer in Huntington Beach can ensure you understand California’s legal codes and defend you in court if you face charges for selling firearms.
Criminal Defense Lawyer Near Me (310) 928-9347
Laws for Carrying a Weapon in Public
California strictly controls how firearms may be carried in public places. You can face criminal charges for:
Carrying a Concealed Weapon
Individuals in Huntington Beach are not legally allowed to conceal a firearm in their vehicle or on their person. You can end up facing fines of $10,000 and 3 years of jail time if you are convicted of carrying a concealed weapon.
Note that you will not face this charge if you have a valid concealed carry permit (CCP) for your firearm.
Carrying a Loaded Firearm
You cannot avoid criminal charges by openly carrying a firearm in public. California does not permit most people to carry a loaded or unloaded firearm in public. In fact, convictions for carrying a loaded firearm can lead to $10,000 in fines and 3 years in jail.
Click to contact our Criminal Defense Lawyers today
Charges for Using Weapons in Huntington Beach
As you can imagine, the usage of weapons is tightly regulated by the court system in Huntington Beach. You may face a number of criminal charges for weapons usage, including:
Negligent discharge involves intentionally shooting a firearm in a way that is grossly negligent. Individuals demonstrate gross negligence if they take an unreasonable action that could hurt or kill someone else. Negligent discharge convictions can result in $10,000 in fines and 3 years of jail time.
You should be aware that acts of self-defense are not considered negligent discharge. Additionally, the court should not convict you of negligent discharge if the gun fired accidentally.
Brandishing a Weapon
Many of California’s weapons law revolve around firearms, but not all of them do. Brandishing a deadly weapon can involve any implement capable of causing great bodily injury. Some common items that are considered weapons in Huntington Beach include:
- Rocks and Beer Bottles
- Swords and Knives
- Scissors and Pens
- Broken Glass and Incendiary Devices
- Power Tools and More….
In addition, all firearms meet the definition for a deadly weapon in Huntington Beach.
Individuals can be charged with brandishing a deadly weapon for taking out or displaying any of these objects around another person:
- In a way that was rude, threatening, or angry
- In the course of an argument or fight
You should not face charges for brandishing a deadly weapon if you were only acting to protect yourself or another person. However, arguing your case in court can be incredibly difficult. A weapons charges lawyer that understands the legal system in California can ensure your defense is solid before your day in court.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Get Help Today from a Huntington Beach Weapons Charges Lawyer
Legal professionals recommend that you get immediate help if you’re facing weapons charges. The court system in California is complicated and a weapons charges lawyer in Huntington Beach can increase the odds that you’ll win your case. You can rely on the experienced team at the Simmrin Law Group to defend you. Learn more about how we can help by completing our online contact form or calling (310) 997-4688.
We’ll start working on your case right now with a FREE consultation.