Violent crime charges can be hard to beat in Whittier, CA. You can end up overwhelmed by the court system. A violent crime conviction typically leads to steep fines and a harsh prison or jail sentence.
Luckily, you don’t have to fight a violent crimes charge on your own. The Simmrin Law Group knows that you need professional help on your side. We have skilled violent crimes lawyers in Whittier who understand the court system and have experience helping clients in your situation.
Whittier’s Charges for Assault
Assault takes place when someone willfully uses force that they know will likely cause a bodily injury. You can be charged with assault even if you don’t hurt someone. Simply attempting to hurt another person qualifies as assault in Whittier.
There are several specific charges used to prosecute different types of assault. You could be charged with a misdemeanor for simple assault. Simple assault convictions can lead to fines of $1,000 and 6 months in jail.
Individuals can also be charged with a felony for more severe forms of assault, including:
- Assault with a Firearm
- Assault with a Deadly Weapon
- Assault by Means Likely to Produce Great Bodily Injury
Felony assault convictions are punished with fines of $10,000 and up to 4 years of time in state prison.
You can increase your chances of beating an assault charge by working with a criminal defense lawyer in Whittier right away. Here at the Simmrin Law Group, we have the skills and experience to take on any assault case.
For a free legal consultation with a Criminal Defense lawyer serving Whittier, call (310) 928-9347
Battery as a Violent Crime
The state of California defines battery as purposefully using force or violence against another person without lawful reason. Many people confuse battery with assault. The difference is that battery requires you to actually use force, while assault can be just an attempt to hurt someone.
Battery can be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony in Whittier. Misdemeanor charges are used for simple battery, which applies if the battery victim is not badly injured.
Felony battery charges can be used if the battery resulted in serious injuries, or if the victim was a law enforcement officer.
In some cases, you may be charged with domestic battery. Domestic battery is a form of domestic violence that involves a current or previous:
- Significant Other
You could also be charged with domestic battery for mistreatment of someone living with you or your child’s parent.
Domestic battery charges apply if a person touches someone else in a way that is offensive or harmful. Like all domestic violence charges, domestic battery convictions can make it difficult to get custody of your children. You could also be fined $2,000 and sent to jail for 1 year if you are convicted of domestic battery.
Make sure you take the right steps if you are accused of battery. Getting help right away boosts your chances for courtroom success.
Criminal Defense Lawyer Near Me (310) 928-9347
Understanding Murder Charges in Whittier
California considers taking the life of another person to be murder. Murder is the most harshly punished criminal act in Whittier. Taking a murder accusation seriously is vitally important for your life and future. If you are accused of murder, you could be charged with:
First Degree Murder
Individuals commit first degree murder if they come up with a plan and kill someone after premeditation. You can end up facing the death penalty if you are convicted of first degree murder in California.
Second Degree Murder
The state of California uses second degree murder charges if a murder is not planned in advance. The courts generally punish second degree murder less harshly than first degree murder. However, a second degree murder conviction can still lead to life in prison.
Murder charges should not apply if someone is killed in self-defense, but this can be difficult to prove. You can ensure you are treated fairly in the court system by getting professional help on your side right away.
Click to contact our Criminal Defense Lawyers today
Let a Whittier Violent Crimes Lawyer Help You
You don’t have to deal with a violent crimes charge on your own. The Simmrin Law Group knows you need support in this difficult time. Our violent crime lawyers in Whittier can take on your case and guide you through your legal battle. You can find out more about your options right now with our FREE consultation.
Secure your future by completing our online contact form or calling (310) 997-4688.