Many people find out the hard way that you can end up in serious legal trouble for weapons charges. California’s laws surrounding selling, owning, and using weapons are complicated and difficult to follow, but breaking these weapons laws can still lead to harsh punishments.
The Simmrin Law Group can help you deal with any legal issue involving weapons. Our highly trained weapons charges lawyers in Whittier have the legal expertise to take on your case. We’ll build your defense so you can focus on getting your life back on track.
Make Sure You Understand Weapons Charges in Whittier
The state of California uses a broad definition for weapons. Any implement that can cause a serious injury can be considered a weapon, including:
- Swords and Knives
- Baseball Bats and Clubs
- Beer Bottles and Rocks
- Power Tools and Incendiary Devices
You can also face weapons charges for the use of firearms. All of the following weapons are firearms in California:
- Antique Guns
You can face criminal charges for a wide variety of gun crimes, both at the state and federal level. Any criminal weapons charge should be taken seriously. You can count on a criminal defense lawyer in Whittier to build your defense right away.
For a free legal consultation with a Criminal Defense lawyer serving Whittier, call (310) 928-9347
Charges for Carrying a Weapon in Public
You can face harsh charges just for carrying a weapon around in public in Whittier, including:
Criminal Defense Lawyer Near Me (310) 928-9347
Carrying a Concealed Weapon
Under California law, you are not allowed to conceal a weapon on your person or in your vehicle. Note that you are allowed to carry a concealed weapon if you have a concealed carry permit (CCP) or if your firearm is in a locked container.
A conviction for carrying a concealed weapon can lead to 3 years in jail and fines of $10,000. These harsh charges can impact your life for years to come.
Click to contact our Criminal Defense Lawyers today
Carrying a Loaded Firearm
Carrying a loaded firearm is against the law in California. You are not permitted to carry a loaded firearm even if they gun does not otherwise operate.
There are several exceptions to this law. If you have a CCP you are allowed to carry your firearm. Additionally, many law enforcement officers and security guards are allowed to carry firearms in public. If you do not meet these exceptions, you could fined $10,000 and sent to jail for 3 years.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Whittier’s Charges for Using a Weapon
Criminal charges for using a weapon in California can be difficult to fight. We know that you need professional help on your side if you’ve been charged with:
Individuals who shoot a firearm in a grossly negligent way can be charged with negligent discharge. Negligent discharge only occurs if you fire a gun on purpose. Firing a gun in self-defense does not count as negligent discharge.
A negligent discharge conviction can lead to up to 3 years in jail and $10,000 in fines.
Brandishing a Weapon
The court defines brandishing a deadly weapon as taking out, drawing, or displaying a deadly weapon:
- Around another person in a way that is angry, threatening, or rude OR
- During an argument or fight for no lawful reason
Any item that could cause another person great bodily harm can be considered a deadly weapon in Whittier. A conviction for brandishing a deadly weapon can lead to fines and years of time in jail.
Additional Weapons Charges in Whittier
California has many other weapons charges that can be difficult to understand. These include:
Felon With a Firearm
The felon with a firearm law restricts the gun ownership of certain groups. In the state of California, you are not allowed to possess a firearm if you are:
- A narcotic drug addict
- A convicted felon
- Subject to certain restraining or protective orders
- Convicted of some misdemeanors or federal crimes
Convictions under the felon with a firearm law can lead to up to 3 years of jail time and fines of up to $10,000.
Unlicensed Sale of Firearms
Only individuals with a special license are allowed to sell, trade, or otherwise change the ownership of firearms in Whittier. If you participate in the unlicensed sale of firearms you can end up spending 6 months in jail for each gun sold illicitly.
Note that there are exceptions to the rules surrounding the unlicensed sale of firearms. However, these exceptions can be difficult to understand and can end up getting you into deeper legal trouble.
Let a Whittier Weapons Charges Lawyer Defend You
Weapons charges are often more serious than they appear. You can end up losing years of your life and paying high fines if you are convicted. A weapons charges lawyer in Whittier can help protect you in and out of the courtroom. The Simmrin Law Group knows how to build your defense and we’re ready to help with a FREE consultation.
Get the legal defense you need by calling (310) 997-4688 or completing our online contact form.