The court system in Hermosa Beach considers driving under the influence (DUI) to be a serious criminal offense. You can face misdemeanor or even felony charges if you are arrested for a DUI. These charges could lead to:
- The suspension of your driver’s license
- Time in jail
A DUI lawyer in Hermosa Beach can help you face these charges head-on. The team at the Simmrin Law Group can begin building your defense right now. Let us take steps to get your charges reduced. In some cases, we can even ensure your DUI charges are dismissed.
DUI Charges in Hermosa Beach
Operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of drugs or alcohol can lead to DUI charges in Hermosa Beach. The court system actually uses a number of different charges to prosecute DUIs. Depending upon your situation, you could be charged under:
- California Vehicle Code Section 23152(a): Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol
- California Vehicle Code Section 23152(d): Driving a Commercial Vehicle with a Blood Alcohol Content of 0.04 Percent or Higher
- California Vehicle Code Section 23152(g): Driving Under the Combined Influence of Alcohol and Drugs
- California Vehicle Code Section 23152(f): Driving Under the Influence of Drugs
These are only examples of some of the charges used to handle DUI accusations. All of these charges can have a tremendous impact on your life, so make sure you reach out to a criminal defense lawyer in Hermosa Beach as soon as you are arrested.
For a free legal consultation with a Criminal Defense lawyer serving Hermosa Beach, call (310) 928-9347
Results of DUI Convictions in Hermosa Beach
DUIs are generally punished very harshly by the court system in California. DUI charges are also priorable, which means that subsequent convictions are punished more harshly than a first-time offense. Review examples of DUI penalties right here:
Fines for a Hermosa Beach DUI
- First DUI: Up to $2,000
- Second DUI: Up to $2,500
- Third DUI: Up to $3,000
Jail Time for a Hermosa Beach DUI
- First DUI: Up to six months
- Second and Third DUI: Up to one year
License Suspension for a Hermosa Beach DUI
- First DUI: Up to one year
- Second DUI: Up to two years
- Third DUI: Up to three years
Criminal Defense Lawyer Near Me (310) 928-9347
Plea Bargains and DUIs in Hermosa Beach
You may be offered a plea bargain by a prosecutor after you are charged with a DUI in Hermosa Beach. The prosecution can try to convince you that you should accept this deal right away. However, initial plea bargains are often not in your favor.
You should allow a traffic violation lawyer in Hermosa Beach to review any deals you are offered. Your lawyer can investigate your case, work to dispute evidence against you, and stand up for you. In some situations, your lawyer can get your charges reduced to an acceptable level, at which point they might recommend that you accept a plea bargain.
Click to contact our Criminal Defense Lawyers today
The Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) and DUI Charges
You will have 10 days to request a hearing with the DMV after you are arrested for a DUI. It is very important that you request this hearing, as the DMV can automatically suspend your license if you do not.
The team at the Simmrin Law Group can ensure your hearing is appropriately scheduled. We can also defend you during this hearing, protecting your right to continue operating your vehicle.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Legal Defenses for Hermosa Beach DUIs
Not all DUI accusations in Hermosa Beach can be resolved through a plea bargain. Your lawyer may need to construct a defense to stand up for you in court. Depending upon your situation, your DUI lawyer could work to show that:
You Were Not Legally Under the Influence
Law enforcement officers in Hermosa Beach may measure your blood alcohol content (BAC) to determine if you are driving under the influence. They often use tests like the breathalyzer. However, these tests can return false-positive results that can be disputed to demonstrate that you were not legally intoxicated.
You Were Stopped Illegally by a Police Officer
You should only be stopped by a law enforcement officer if they have reasonable cause to believe you are committing a criminal act. If you were stopped without due cause, any charges you are facing could be thrown out. This means that your DUI charges could be dismissed entirely.
Call a Hermosa Beach DUI Lawyer Right Away
Building a defense to DUI charges in Hermosa Beach takes time. Get aggressively assistance right now by contacting the Simmrin Law Group’s DUI lawyers in Hermosa Beach. Find out how we can help you with a FREE initial case evaluation.
Secure professional legal assistance by filling out our online contact form or calling (310) 997-4688.