Property crimes are treated very seriously in Lancaster, CA. Depending on the charges, they could be seen as infractions, misdemeanors, or even felonies in especially serious cases. If you are convicted of a property crime, you could end up spending time in jail or prison. You will also likely be subject to steep fines.
The Simmrin Law Group is here to make sure you don’t have to deal with these charges on your own. Our property crimes lawyers have years of experience winning criminal defense cases in the Lancaster court system. We can fight for you in and out of the court room, no matter the charges against you.
Defend Yourself from Property Crimes Charges in Lancaster
The following acts are considered property crimes in California:
The court system will handle each of these charges differently. Some, like vandalism, may occasionally be treated as infractions. Other charges, such as arson, are only seen as misdemeanors or felonies. All of these charges can result in fines and other serious penalties.
Make sure you understand the charges brought against you by contacting a skilled property crimes lawyer as soon as you can as these attorneys can help you with every step of your defense.
Dealing with Vandalism Charges
Vandalism is seen as the act of damaging, defacing, or destroying the property of someone else. This offense can be charged in three different ways in the Lancaster area:
- Infraction. You can be charged with an infraction if you are accused of doing less than $250 in damage and are not a repeat offender.
- Misdemeanor. Misdemeanor charges are generally brought if you are accused of causing up to $400 in damage, or you are a repeat offender.
- Felony. If you are accused of causing more than $400 in damage, you will likely be charged with a felony.
Each of these charges carries different penalties. You will likely only face fines if convicted of an infraction. However, you could face up to 3 years in prison, fines, and community service requirements if you face a felony conviction for vandalism.
Trespassing Charges in Lancaster, CA
You can be charged with trespassing if you enter another person’s property or land without first getting their permission. This act can be charged in three different ways in Lancaster:
- Trespass. Many cases of trespass are seen as infractions and only come with a small fine of up to $100.
- Criminal Trespass. Charges of criminal trespass can be brought against you if you enter property to interfere with or damage it. You do not actually have to cause any damage to face this charge. This is generally seen as a misdemeanor. It can lead up to $1,000 in fines and 6 months in jail.
- Aggravated Trespass. Threats must be made in order for an act to be considered aggravated trespass. You could face either misdemeanor or felony charges for this kind of trespass and you could end up spending 3 years in jail.
No matter which trespass charge you are facing, you could be subjected to serious legal consequences. Protect your future by contacting a property crimes lawyer who has experience winning cases in Lancaster.
Arson as a Property Crime
Any time a fire is set intentionally in Lancaster, you could end up charged with the property crime of arson. California uses two laws to differentiate arson cases.
Reckless burning is the less serious of the arson charges used in Lancaster. The California courts see this as setting a fire for the thrill of it, due to mental illness, or for any other reason that isn’t malicious or intended to harm or defraud someone. Reckless burning may be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on the situation.
You can face severe consequences for malicious arson, which occurs if someone starts a fire with ill intent. If someone is motivated to hurt or kill someone else, to defraud an organization, or to damage property out of feelings of anger or revenge, it could be considered malicious arson. Based on your circumstances, this could also be seen as “enhanced” malicious arson, which comes with even harsher penalties. Both charges are considered felonies.
Lancaster’s Burglary Charges
Burglary is considered to be the act of entering a locked vehicle, a room, or a building in order to commit petty theft or a felony. You can be charged with burglary even if you don’t steal anything or break a lock to enter the building. The court system is solely concerned with your intention when prosecuting this act.
The act of burglary can be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on whether you entered a business or a residential home or vehicle. Residential cases are judged more severely and can result in 6 years in prison and $10,000 in fines if you are convicted of burglary in Lancaster.
Defend Yourself with a Property Crimes Lawyer in Lancaster, CA
A conviction for a property crime can impact your life for years to come. You can take steps to protect your future by contacting the Simmrin Law Group today. Our property crimes lawyers understand the criminal justice system and have a long reputation for courtroom success. Find out how we can help you by contacting us today for a FREE consultation. You can reach us by filling out the form on the right or calling (310) 997-4688.