There are many possible sex crimes charges you could face in California, and all of them are taken very seriously by the court system. A conviction could lead to fines and time spent in prison or jail. Individuals convicted of these acts are also required to complete the sex offender registration process.
An experienced sex crimes lawyer from the Simmrin Law Group can help you build your case in the Lancaster court system. Our highly trained lawyers can provide you with skilled legal advice as you work to protect yourself from these charges.
Build a Defense Against Any Sex Crimes Charge
The state of California has many possible charges related to sex crimes. Many of these fall under the umbrella terms of sexual abuse or sexual misconduct. These terms can cover the following charges:
- Sexual Battery
- Sexual Assault / Rape
- Sexual Harassment
Sexual abuse and sexual misconduct may also be used to describe indecent exposure, lewd conduct, and multiple child sex crimes. California also has laws regulating human trafficking. Additionally, you could face serious consequences if you are convicted of any sex crimes charge and then fail to register as a sex offender.
You don’t have to formulate a defense on your own. Drawing on the expertise of trained Lancaster criminal defense lawyers may improve your chances for success in the courtroom so you can get on with your life.
For a free legal consultation with a lawyer serving Lancaster, call (310) 896-2723
Charges of Lewd Conduct and Indecent Exposure
Lancaster considers lewd conduct to be the act of touching someone’s private parts while in public. You can face this charge for touching your own body, or even if you merely ask to be touched. Lewd conduct is considered a misdemeanor that can lead to $1,000 in fines and 6 months in jail.
You might also face charges of indecent exposure in the Lancaster area. Indecent exposure occurs if someone uncovers their private parts in a public place. The courts can treat this action as a misdemeanor, an aggravated misdemeanor, or a felony. You could face fines of up to $10,000 for indecently exposing yourself and you might end up in prison for up to 3 years.
Criminal Defense Lawyer Near Me (310) 896-2723
Prostitution and Human Trafficking Charges in Lancaster
You can face charges in California for soliciting a prostitute, which is agreeing to give someone something in exchange for a sex act. You could also be charged for performing an act of prostitution. These charges are both seen as misdemeanors that could lead to 180 days in jail and fines of $1,000.
Human trafficking is a more severe crime that is always treated as a felony. There are three offenses that are considered human trafficking in Lancaster:
- Forcing labor or service from someone by depriving them of personal liberty.
- Trying to convince a minor to perform a commercial sex act or to act as a prostitute.
- Violating certain sex crime laws after depriving someone of personal liberty.
Any human trafficking charge can lead to very severe consequences, including fines of up to $500,000. You could also end up spending your life in prison in some circumstances if you are convicted of human trafficking.
Click to contact our Criminal Defense Lawyers In Lancaster, CA today
Lancaster’s Sexual Battery and Rape Charges
Sexual battery is seen as the act of touching someone who does not want to be touched without performing sexual intercourse. It can be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony in California. A conviction for sexual battery can lead to $10,000 in fines and up to 4 years in prison.
Charges of rape can be very serious. These charges apply to any situation in which someone is forced or threatened into sex. Rape can involve drugging someone or taking advantage of them when they are otherwise powerless to stop a sex act from occurring. You could end up in prison for 8 years if you are convicted of raping someone.
Date rape describes a specific kind of sexual assault that can occur if both parties know one another or were somehow previously sexually involved. Date rape carries the same possible penalties as other forms of rape.
Any conviction of rape requires you to register as a sex offender for the rest of your life. Make sure you’re doing everything in your power to defend yourself by contacting a sex crimes lawyer today.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
California’s Laws on Child Sex Crimes
The state of California uses many laws to prosecute sex crimes that involve children. There are charges that can be applied even if you never meet a child, including:
- Seduce or Solicit a Minor. Seducing or soliciting a minor generally involves contacting a child over the internet with sexual intent. It can be treated as felony or a misdemeanor.
- Traveling to Meet a Minor. A charge of traveling to meet a minor can apply if you set up a time to encounter a minor so that you can engage in a sexual act together. This charge may be a felony or a misdemeanor. You do not actually have to meet the minor to be convicted of traveling to meet a minor.
- Child Pornography. You cannot legally use, distribute, or make child pornography in California. Any action involving child pornography can result in 8 years in prison and large fines.
Lancaster also has a number of laws that fall under the umbrella of child sexual abuse. This can involve showing minors pornography, touching yourself or a minor in a private area, and any sex act involving a minor. These acts are covered by some specific charges, including:
Child molestation covers any action driven by sexual interest in a child that is disturbing, irritating, or simply observable by a minor. You could have to spend 3 years in prison if you are convicted of child molestation.
Individuals may be charged with statutory rape any time they engage in a sex act with someone under the age of 18. The act is considered to be unlawful sexual activity with a minor. Statutory rape can be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony and it can lead to 4 years in a state prison.
Most sex crimes involving children require you to register as a sex offender. Take control of your future by contacting a sex crimes lawyer to handle your case today.
Failure to Register as a Sex Offender in Lancaster
You can face serious consequences if you are convicted of a sex crime and fail to register as a sex offender. Depending on your conviction, you will have to stay registered for different lengths of time. If you fail to complete this registration, you could be charged with an additional misdemeanor or felony, which could lead to years of additional time in prison.
Lancaster Lawyers That Can Fight for You
A sex crime conviction can change the rest of your life. The Lancaster sex crimes lawyers of the Simmrin Law Group understand the importance of your case. We can help you fight in and out of the courtroom in Lancaster. Don’t wait to start building planning your defense. You can contact us today to get a FREE consultation that focuses on your situation. Call us at (310) 997-4688 or fill out the form on the right to get started now.
Call or text (310) 896-2723 or complete a Free Case Evaluation form