The court system in Lancaster, CA treats the charge of driving under the influence (DUI) very severely. Even a single conviction can lead to fines, probation, jail time, and the suspension of your license. Taking a DUI charge seriously can have a large impact on your future.
The Simmrin Law Group employs experienced DUI lawyers from the Lancaster area who understand how to deal with these charges effectively. We can help you navigate the legal system in California and offer you a skilled courtroom defense.
Build a Defense Against Traffic Violation Charges
While a DUI charge can be extremely harsh, it is not the only traffic violation charge you might face in Lancaster. You could be forced to deal with various traffic infractions, which are not criminal offenses, though they can still come with fines and leave points on your license.
California also charges some traffic violations as misdemeanors or felonies. These acts are treated more seriously by the court system. They can include actions such as:
- Reckless Driving
- Driving on a Suspended License
Each traffic infraction, misdemeanor, or felony will add points to your license. These points determine whether or not your license will be suspended.
Working with a traffic violations lawyer can help you defend yourself from these charges so you can maintain your ability to get around. Contact a skilled defense lawyer today to improve your odds in court.
For a free legal consultation with a Criminal Defense lawyer serving Lancaster, call (310) 928-9347
Lancaster Area DUI Charges
An individual over the age of 21 is considered to be driving under the influence if he or she has a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08% or more. Drivers who are under the age of 21 are seen as under the influence even if their BAC is as low as 0.01%.
Unlike many other traffic violations, you will have your license suspended right away if you are convicted of a DUI. The length of this suspension will vary based on your age and whether or not it is your first DUI offense. For example, if you are over 21 and this is your first DUI charge, your license will be suspended for 4 months.
Your license will also be suspended if you are pulled over and you refuse to take a chemical test to determine your BAC. A first-time refusal will allow the court system to suspend your license for an entire year. You will also have to pay a $125 fine.
In addition to losing your license, a DUI conviction carries other serious repercussions. You could end up paying high fines and, depending on your situation, you might end up in jail.
You can take steps to handle your DUI charge the right way by a criminal defense lawyer — in this case, a DUI defense lawyer — with a proven history of success may be able to help you fight these charges to get your life back in order.
Criminal Defense Lawyer Near Me (310) 928-9347
Traffic Violations in Lancaster, CA
Traffic violations are not nearly as severe as a DUI charge, but they can still add points to your license and cost you money. The state of California will suspend your license if you collect:
- 4 points over the course of 1 year.
- 6 points over the course of 2 years.
- 8 points over the course of 3 years.
Most traffic violations will add 1 point to your license and these points can add up quickly. Common traffic violations include:
- Running a Red Light
- Driving Without Insurance
You are usually given a ticket if you are caught performing one of these acts. Note that many red lights in Lancaster may utilize cameras to monitor driver behavior. If the camera records you running a red light, you will receive a ticket for the traffic violation that you must take seriously.
Traffic violations may come with fines of up to $450 for a first-time offense. Depending on your exact situation, your car could also be impounded.
Click to contact our Criminal Defense Lawyers today
Misdemeanor Traffic Charges in California
A misdemeanor traffic charge can come with serious consequences in the Lancaster area. These charges typically add two points to your license for a first offense. There are two common examples of traffic charges that are treated as misdemeanors by the court system:
Driving on a Suspended or Revoked License
This charge applies to individuals who drove their vehicle while knowing that their license was suspended or revoked. There are a number of different penalties associated with driving while your license is either revoked or suspended. The repercussions vary depending on why your license was suspended or revoked.
However, almost all of these penalties will result in you spending up to 6 months in jail and paying fines of up to $1,000.
The state of California considers driving a motor vehicle in a way that shows willful disregard for others’ safety to be reckless driving. There are many actions that can be considered reckless driving by the court system, including:
- Road Raging
- Speeding Excessively
- Engaging in Daredevil Behavior
You could end up spending 90 days in jail if convicted of reckless driving. You might also face fines of $1,000 and you could be forced to deal with probation for a lengthy period of time.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Fight Traffic Violation Charges with a Lancaster DUI Lawyer
A conviction for a traffic charge can cost you time, money, and even your driver’s license. You can defend yourself from these charges by working with the experienced DUI and traffic violations lawyers of the Simmrin Law Group. We have a long history of successfully winning cases in the Lancaster area.