Violent crimes involve threats or using force to harm another person. A conviction for this kind of crime can have serious consequences for your life. If you face a violent crimes charge you could end up spending years in jail or prison. You could also be forced to pay extremely high fines.
Skilled prosecutors are usually responsible for handling violent crimes cases. You do not have to fight these individuals in court on your own. You can find a Lancaster violent crimes lawyer who can stand by you and help you defend yourself.
You Can Get Legal Protection from Experienced Violent Crimes Lawyers
The violent crimes lawyers of the Simmrin Law Group understand how the court system works in Lancaster. We have experience dealing with these charges as both misdemeanors and felonies. California considers the following acts to be violent crimes:
- Domestic Violence
Depending on the act you are charged with, you could end up facing a lengthy prison sentence because the courts often respond to these charges with overwhelming severity. Learn about the steps you can take to build a solid defense with our violent crimes attorneys.
For a free legal consultation with a Criminal Defense lawyer serving Lancaster, call (310) 896-2723
Assault Charges in Lancaster, CA
You can be charged with assault in California if you are accused of willfully using force that you knew would like cause someone else to suffer a bodily injury. You can be charged with assault even if you only attempt to harm someone and do not succeed.
Assault charges are further broken down into four separate possible offenses:
- Misdemeanor Assault. You could face 6 months of jail time and fines of $1,000 if charged with misdemeanor assault.
- Assault by Means Likely to Produce Great Bodily Injury. This can be charged as a felony or a misdemeanor. Depending on your case, you could spend up to 4 years in state prison and you might have to pay fines of $10,000.
- Assault with a Firearm. Assault with a firearm can be treated as a misdemeanor or a felony. If you are charged with a felony, you could go to prison for 4 years while facing fines of up to $10,000.
- Assault with a Deadly Weapon. An assault with a deadly weapon charge can be either a misdemeanor or a felony. In the most severe cases, you could be sent to prison for 4 years.
Criminal Defense Lawyer Near Me (310) 896-2723
California’s Battery Charges
Lancaster considers battery to be the act of willfully using force or violence on someone else without a lawful justification. This can apply to something as simple as shoving another person. This charge differs from assault in that you must actually utilize force against a person to be accused of battery.
Battery can be charged as a misdemeanor (simple battery) or a felony in the state of California. If you face these charges you could be forced to pay hefty fines and subjected to a lengthy jail term. You might be required to attend anger management classes. Additionally, a battery conviction means you will likely be banned from firearm ownership for a lengthy period of time.
You don’t have to try to defend yourself from these charges alone. Get assistance from an experienced criminal defense law firm in Lancaster who can handle your case in court to protect your future freedoms.
Click to contact our Criminal Defense Lawyers today
Charges Related to Domestic Violence in Lancaster
Domestic violence refers to a wide array of possible actions in California, including:
- Property Damage
- Threatening Actions
Domestic violence charges are all connected because the acts are directed towards an individual’s past or current domestic partner. The two domestic charges most commonly used in Lancaster are:
- Domestic Battery. You could be charged with domestic battery even if you don’t hurt anyone. This charge can apply even if you only push or grab another person.
- Corporal Injury of a Spouse/Partner. This domestic violence charge can be levied against you if you are accused of actually injuring your partner or spouse.
You could end up facing fines of up to $2,000 and up to a year in jail if you are convicted of domestic battery. You may also be required to go through probation. Additionally, if a judge convicts you of domestic violence it could make it very difficult for you to get custody of your children in the event of a divorce.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Murder Charges in the California Court System
You cannot face a more severe violent crimes charge than murder (homicide) in Lancaster. This act is defined as willfully causing another person to die without legal justification and with malice aforethought. Malice aforethought means only that you meant to kill someone or that you knew your actions would result in someone’s death.
You can face two common murder charges in Lancaster:
- First Degree Murder. First degree murder is the more serious of the two murder charges used in California. If you are accused of planning a murder and then carrying it out, you will face this charge. In the most severe cases, you can be given the death penalty if convicted of this charge.
- Second Degree Murder. Second degree murder is less severe and the charge is used when someone carries out a murder without planning it out in advance. You could end up spending the rest of your life in prison if you are convicted.
You may face additional penalties in some circumstances, such as if the murder is considered a hate crime, or if the individual killed was a police officer.
Any murder charge should be treated with incredible care. You could spend the rest of your life behind bars, or even face the death penalty if you are found guilty. Start working with a Lancaster violent crimes lawyer as soon as you can to get help in your corner.
Fight for Your Future with a Violent Crimes Lawyer from Lancaster, CA
Violent crimes charges can have incredibly severe repercussions, but you do not have to deal with them alone. Get help from our skilled team of Lancaster violent crimes lawyers. We understand Lancaster’s legal system and have years of courtroom successes to draw on. Contact us for a FREE consultation to discuss your case and your options. You can reach us at any time by filling out the form on the right or calling us at (310) 997-4688.
Call or text (310) 896-2723 or complete a Free Case Evaluation form