All drivers in Lancaster, CA are required to carry some form of insurance in order to legally operate a vehicle. Drivers must also keep records showing that they have insurance with them as they drive in and around Lancaster.
You could face criminal charges if you are accused of driving without insurance. A conviction for driving without insurance could lead to fines that worsen if you are accused of driving without insurance again.
Find out how you can fight these fines by contacting the Simmrin Law Group. Our driving without insurance lawyers in Lancaster can help defend you against these accusations. Let us offer you the dedicated support you need right now.
California’s Regulations for Car Insurance
The state of California requires you to carry certain minimum amounts of insurance if you want to operate a vehicle in Lancaster. You must carry insurance policies that offer at least:
- 5,000 for Property Damage Per Accident
- 15,000 for Per Individual for Personal Injury
- 30,000 for Two or More Individuals for Personal Injury
Note that these minimums are for dedicated car insurance policies. You may have other options for car insurance in California. In fact, you can also meet car insurance requirements by:
- Making a Cash Deposit with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV)
- Purchasing a Surety Bond from a Licensed Company
- Applying for a Self-Insurance Certificate from the DMV
Generally, these options will require you to set aside at least $35,000 towards car insurance in the Lancaster area.
For a free legal consultation with a lawyer serving Lancaster, call (310) 928-9347
Repercussions for Driving Without Insurance in Lancaster
You can face a fine of up to $100 for a first-time conviction for driving without insurance in Lancaster. Subsequent convictions for driving without insurance within a three-year period of time can result in fines of up to $500.
Note that this means that driving without insurance convictions only stay on your record for three years. Once this period of time passes, you will only face a fine of $100 if you are again arrested for driving without insurance in Lancaster.
Make sure you are ready to face any driving without insurance accusation by contacting a Lancaster criminal defense lawyer today. The professionals at the Simmrin Law Group can offer you dedicated support handling these charges.
Criminal Defense Lawyer Near Me (310) 928-9347
Complications for Causing an Accident While Driving Without Insurance
Note that, so far, we’ve only discussed charges for driving without insurance if you are not involved in an accident. If you were in a wreck while operating a vehicle without insurance, you could face harsher penalties.
The court system can suspend your license if you are accused of causing an accident while driving without insurance. You could also face charges in civil court from other individuals involved in the accident.
Exceptions to California’s Driving Without Insurance Laws
You should be aware that you are not required to provide proof of insurance if you are operating certain vehicles in Lancaster. You should not be convicted for driving without insurance if you were driving a:
- Special Equipment Vehicle
- Off-Highway Vehicle
Additionally, vehicles that are registered to the government or that have a planned non-operation status registration are not covered under driving without insurance laws in Lancaster. If you were operating one of these vehicles, contact a traffic violation lawyer to go over your options for getting your charges dismissed.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Your Options if You Simply Forgot Proof of Insurance
Note that you may have legal options if you carry the required amount of car insurance and merely forgot to bring proof of insurance with you when you got into your vehicle. Your charges could be dismissed if you can:
- Prove That You Had Insurance When You Were Pulled Over
- Acquire Insurance After You Are Pulled Over
These actions can help you avoid the fines associated with driving without insurance in Lancaster.
Other Defenses for Driving Without Insurance
A criminal defense lawyer in Lancaster can help you handle driving without insurance charges. Your lawyer could work to show that you had insurance or that you were driving a vehicle exempted from California’s driving without insurance laws.
Your lawyer could also work to show that you were stopped by a police officer without cause. If you were pulled over without a reason, the charges you are facing for driving without insurance could be dismissed.
Get Help from a Lancaster Driving Without Insurance Lawyer
You could avoid expensive fines if you are accused of driving without insurance by reaching out to the Simmrin Law Group. You can call us at (310) 997-4688 or complete our online contact form to learn more from our driving without insurance lawyers in Lancaster.
Get professional advice right now with a FREE consultation.