Weapons charges often involve using a firearm in a way that is prohibited by the law, but they can also apply to other instruments, such as knives, broken bottles, swords, and more. You could face severe penalties if convicted of a weapons crime.
Building a legal defense is easier when you’re working with an experienced weapons charges lawyer from the Lancaster area. The Simmrin Law Group employs dedicated lawyers who can provide you with excellent legal aid as you face the court system on your weapons charges.
Get Help from Lancaster Area Weapons Charges Lawyers
California uses complicated laws to handle weapons charges. You could face charges for:
- Negligent Discharge
- Unlicensed Sale of Firearms
- Carrying a Concealed Weapon or a Loaded Weapon
- Brandishing a Weapon
Individuals with prior criminal convictions can also face the felon with a firearm charge.
Any weapons charge can result in serious repercussions, including fines and jail time. Additionally, a conviction for a weapons charge could mean that you will be forbidden from owning a firearm in the future. Take steps to protect yourself right away by getting in contact with our criminal defense law firm in Lancaster.
For a free legal consultation with a Criminal Defense lawyer serving Lancaster, call (310) 896-2723
Negligent Discharge in Lancaster
Negligent discharge occurs when someone willfully shoots a firearm in a way that is grossly negligent and that could end up hurting or killing someone. Negligent discharge may be treated as a misdemeanor or a felony in the court system. You could end up spending 3 years in jail and paying fines of $10,000 if you are convicted.
Criminal Defense Lawyer Near Me (310) 896-2723
Unlicensed Sale of Firearms Charges
It is considered illegal to lease or sell a firearm in Lancaster unless you have a license to do so. You are also not legally permitting to transfer ownership of a firearm if you are unlicensed. There are exceptions to this rule but, in general, selling or trading a firearm is seen as a misdemeanor punishable by $1,000 in fines and up to 6 months in jail.
Click to contact our Criminal Defense Lawyers today
Charges for Carrying or Brandishing a Weapon in California
You can face several charges for either having a weapon in your possession or brandishing a weapon in the state of California. They include:
Carrying a Loaded Firearm
The charge of carrying a loaded firearm can be used if you are holding any weapon that makes use of explosive propellant in a public place. You can carry a loaded firearm without worrying if you get a concealed carry permit. If you do not have a permit, the courts can charge you with a misdemeanor or a felony.
Carrying a Concealed Weapon
Individuals may face the carrying a concealed weapon charge only if they have a substantially hidden firearm on them or in their vehicle and they know about it. You are exempted from the charge of carrying a concealed weapon if you have a concealed carry permit. The court can treat this charge as either a felony or a misdemeanor. It could lead to up to 3 years in jail.
Brandishing a Weapon
Brandishing a weapon involves drawing, displaying, or taking out a weapon around someone else in a threatening or rude way. You can also face this charge if you take out a weapon during a fight and you aren’t using it in a defensive way.
Any deadly weapon can be brandished, including things like firearms, broken glass, baseball bats, rocks, knives, and chainsaws. You could face misdemeanor, aggravated misdemeanor, or felony charges for brandishing a weapon. A conviction can lead to 3 years of incarceration in a state prison.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Felon with a Firearm Charges in Lancaster
Some individuals are not legally allowed to own or possess guns in California. This includes members of the following groups:
- Convicted Felons
- Individuals with Mental Illnesses
- Narcotics Addicts
If you are a member of one of these groups and you have a firearm, you could face serious charges. Felon with a firearm charges are usually treated as a felony, though occasionally they are handled as a misdemeanor. You could end up spending 3 years in jail if you are convicted of possessing a firearm without permission.
Build Your Defense with a Lancaster Weapons Charges Lawyer
You could suffer from the results of a weapons charge conviction for the rest of your life. The Simmrin Law Group understands your situation and can help you defend your future. Let our skilled Lancaster weapons charges lawyers work for you when you need help the most. We’ll provide you with a FREE consultation so you can get started on your defense right away.
Fill out the form on the right or call us was (310) 896-2723 to begin working on your case.