The state of California uses weapons charges to prosecute people who use firearms and other weapons improperly. You could face misdemeanor or felony charges if accused of a crime involving weapons. A conviction for a weapons charge can lead to very high fines and even time spent in jail or prison.
Fighting a weapons charge on your own can end up be overwhelming. Improve your chances in court by getting expert legal advice from a weapons charges lawyer right here in Pomona. The Simmrin Law Group can provide you with superior care as you defend yourself from weapons charges.
Focus on Your Defense Against Weapons Charges
You can face serious repercussions if you are dealing with weapons charges in Pomona. There are several unique charges used to handle weapons offenses in California:
- Unlicensed Sale of Firearms
- Carrying a Loaded Firearm
- Carrying a Concealed Weapon
- Brandishing a Weapon
- Negligent Discharge
In some circumstances, you could also face the felon with a firearm charge. The court system can treat weapons offenses as misdemeanors or felonies. You could end up saddled with high fines or facing time in jail if convicted of a weapons charge.
The court system makes it hard for you to fight back against a weapons charge. Contacting a criminal defense lawyer in Pomona right away can improve your odds in court. Get the legal help you need to start building a case today.
For a free legal consultation with a lawyer serving Pomona, call (310) 928-9347
Unlicensed Sale of Firearms in Pomona
You can be charged with a crime if you sell, lease, or transfer the ownership of a firearm in Pomona without a license. Note that California considers flare guns, tasers, and rocket launchers to be firearms, as well as traditional guns.
There are exceptions to the laws surrounding the unlicensed sale of firearms, but they are very complex and easy to misunderstand. For every firearm that you sell without a license you could face 6 months in jail and fines of $1,000.
Criminal Defense Lawyer Near Me (310) 928-9347
Carrying a Loaded or Concealed Weapon
The state of California prohibits most people from carrying a firearm in public places. You could end up facing charges for:
- Carrying a Concealed Weapon
- Carrying a Loaded Firearm
Be aware that any weapon with an explosive propellant can be considered a loaded firearm in Pomona, including tasers and antique guns. You can be charged for carrying a loaded firearm even if your weapon is not operable.
The court system can charge you with a misdemeanor or a felony for carrying a concealed or loaded firearm. There are exceptions to these charges if you have a concealed carry permit, but otherwise you could be sentenced to 3 years in jail and forced to pay fines of up to $10,000.
Charges for Brandishing a Deadly Weapon
Brandishing a deadly weapon involves displaying or taking out a weapon in a way that is threatening, rude, or angry around other people. The charge for brandishing a deadly weapon can also apply if a weapon is drawn in an argument or fight without being used for defense.
The definition of a deadly weapon in Pomona is very broad. Firearms are a common example of a deadly weapon, but other instruments fall under this description as well, including:
- Power Tools
- Baseball Bats
- Broken Glass
The court system in Pomona can charge you with a misdemeanor, aggravated misdemeanor, or a felony if you are accused of brandishing a deadly weapon. A convicted for brandishing a deadly weapon can result in 3 years in prison, depending on your circumstances.
You can get help protect yourself from a charge of brandishing a deadly weapon by working with an experienced weapons charges lawyer who understands the court system in Pomona.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Pomona’s Negligent Discharge Laws
You can be charged with negligent discharge if you fire a gun in a grossly negligent manner. This means that your actions could result in someone else’s injury or death.
Negligent discharge can be prosecuted as a misdemeanor or a felony in the Pomona court system. You could end up spending 3 years in jail and paying a fine of $10,000 if you are convicted of negligent discharge.
Charges for Felon with a Firearm
The “felon with a firearm” law is used to restrict the ownership of guns in California. This law prohibits you from possessing a gun if you are a member of certain groups. For example, you cannot legally own a gun if you are a narcotic drug addict or a convicted felon in Pomona. You may also be prohibited from owning a gun if you are subject to certain protective or restraining orders.
California can treat violations of the felon with a firearm law as misdemeanors or felonies. If you are convicted you could be sent to jail for 3 years and you could face fines of $10,000.
Certain weapons charges are handled by the federal court system. These federal gun charges can apply if you used a gun in certain ways or if you are connected to a federal investigation. Federal courts generally have harsher sentences and the conviction rates are very high.
You can be overwhelmed by weapons charges on either the state or the federal level. An experienced weapons charges lawyer can guide you through the legal system while always supporting your best interests.
Build a Solid Defense Against Weapons Charges
You could end up facing serious consequences if you are convicted of a weapons charge. Don’t risk getting bulldozed by the court system. Start fighting for your future today by working with an experienced weapons charges lawyer from the Simmrin Law Group. We can help build your defense at the state or federal level. You can get started right away with our FREE consultation. We’re available when you need us.
Call (310) 997-4688 or fill out the form on the right to get to work today.