Violent crimes are handled particularly harshly by the criminal justice system in Pomona, CA. You could end up charged with a misdemeanor or a felony, even if no one is badly hurt by your actions. A conviction for a violent crime can result in fines and years of prison or jail time.
Defending against a violent crimes charge can be challenging on your own. Getting help right away from an experienced violent crimes lawyer in Pomona can improve your odds in court. You can take advantage of the legal skills and courtroom experience of the Simmrin Law Group to build your defense.
Be Prepared for a Violent Crimes Charge
Your future can be put in jeopardy by a violent crimes charge. The state of California can use the following charges to prosecute violent crimes:
- Domestic Violence
You could face misdemeanor or felony charges for a violent crime, depending on your exact situation. A violent crimes conviction can result in fines and incarceration that puts your life on hold. Get help fighting back by working with a Pomona criminal defense lawyer who understands your situation and has experience beating prosecutors in Pomona.
For a free legal consultation with a lawyer serving Pomona, call (310) 896-2723
Pomona’s Charges for Assault
The charge of assault deals with the willful use of force against another person. Assault only applies if you knew someone would likely be hurt by your actions. Depending on your circumstances, you could face a number of assault charges, including:
- Simple (Misdemeanor) Assault
- Assault with a Deadly Weapon
- Assault with a Firearm
- Assault by Means Likely to Produce Great Bodily Injury
Most assault charges can be treated as misdemeanors or felonies in the court system. Simple assault is the least severe of these offenses, but it can still lead to fines of $1,000 and up to 6 months in jail. If you are convicted of a more serious form of assault, you could go to jail for 4 years.
You can put your future at risk by not treating an assault charge seriously. Working with a violent crimes lawyer can strengthen your case and improve your odds in court. Make sure you have the help you need today.
Criminal Defense Lawyer Near Me (310) 896-2723
Charges for Battery in California
California defines battery as the act of willfully using violence or force on another person without a lawful reason. Battery charges only apply if you actually use force against another person. You cannot be charged with battery if you only attempt to harm someone.
Battery can be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony in the Pomona court system. You could end up facing 6 months in jail and fines of $2,000, even for an act of simple battery. The charges can be higher if you are accused of attacking an officer or the law or if the attack resulted in serious injuries.
Domestic Violence Charges
Domestic violence occurs when someone acts violently against an individual they are or were involved with. You can be charged with domestic violence for harassing, hurting, or otherwise harming someone else. Pomona has charged individuals with domestic abuse for:
- Stalking Behavior
- Destruction of Property
- Threatening Behavior
The charge of domestic battery is sometimes used if you are accused of touching a family member in a harmful or offensive way. A domestic battery charge can apply even if no one gets hurt. You could end up spending 1 year in jail and paying fines of $2,000 if convicted of domestic battery.
The negative repercussions of a domestic violence charge are far reaching. A domestic violence conviction can make it impossible for you to get custody of your children. You could also be denied spousal support if you have a domestic violence conviction on your record.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Murder as a Violent Crime
Murder is considered the most severe violent crime in Pomona. You can be charged with murder if you cause the death of another person without legal justification and with “malice aforethought.” Individuals act with “malice aforethought” if they intend to kill someone or know that their actions will kill someone.
California uses two charges to prosecute acts of murder:
Second Degree Murder
Second degree murder charges are used when a killing is not planned out in advance. The courts generally treat second degree murder less severely than first degree murder, but the penalties are still very high. You could end up spending life in prison if you are convicted of second degree murder.
First Degree Murder
A charge of first degree murder applies if an individual plans to kill someone else and then carries out the murder. A first degree murder conviction can result in the death penalty, making it the most severe violent crimes charge in Pomona.
You don’t have to try to face a murder charge on your own. Get help defending your future and your life. You can contact a violent crimes lawyer to get the legal aid you need before it’s too late.
Build Your Case with a Violent Crimes Lawyer
Your life could be on the line if you’re charged with a violent crime. Protect yourself by working with an experienced violent crimes lawyer in Pomona. The Simmrin Law Group can help build your defense and offer you support in and out of the courtroom. Find out what we can do to help by contacting us right away for a FREE consultation.
You can start fighting back by calling (310) 896-2723 or filling out the form on the right.