California requires drivers to follow a number of strict regulations before they can operate a motor vehicle. Drivers must demonstrate that they can safely operate a vehicle by obtaining a driver’s license. They also have to show financial responsibility by getting auto insurance.
- Impound your car
- Suspend your license
Take steps to resolve a driving without insurance accusation quickly by contacting the Simmrin Law Group today. Our driving without insurance lawyers in Pomona are ready to start working on your defense.
Understanding California’s Regulations on Car Insurance
According to California Vehicle Code Section 16029, drivers are legally required to:
- Carry a car insurance policy
- Drive with evidence of said insurance policy
This means that you can be accused of driving without insurance even if you have a car insurance policy. Note that drivers in Pomona must also carry certain minimum amounts of insurance to avoid a VC 16029 charge. You need to carry at least:
- 5,000 for property damage per accident
- 15,000 for personal injury for one person per accident
- 30,000 total coverage for personal injury per accident
A criminal defense lawyer in Pomona can help you if you are accused of carrying a sub-standard car insurance policy, or if you were charged under VC 16029 for forgetting to carry your proof-of-insurance out on the road.
For a free legal consultation with a lawyer serving Pomona, call (310) 928-9347
You Have Alternate Options for Insurance in Pomona
You should be aware that you do not have to carry auto insurance through a major insurance company to avoid VC 16029 charges in Pomona. Drivers in the state of California may also be considered insured if they:
- Obtain a self-insurance certificate from the department of motor vehicles (DMV)
- Make a cash deposit of $35,000 with the DMV and get proof to this deposit
- Obtain a surety bond of $35,000 from a licensed company
If you are pulled over and you can provide evidence that you carry any of the above forms of coverage, you should not be charged with driving without insurance. If you were falsely charged after providing proof of financial responsibility, a traffic violations lawyer in Pomona can help you.
Criminal Defense Lawyer Near Me (310) 928-9347
The Court Can Fine You for Driving Without Insurance in Pomona
Generally, a first-time charge for driving without insurance will result in a fine of at least $100. If you are charged with driving without insurance again within three years of the first charge, you can face increased fines of up to $500 along with additional penalties and fees.
However, you may face harsher penalties for driving without insurance in some cases. The police may impound your vehicle if you are accused of driving without insurance. Additionally, if you are accused of causing an accident while driving without insurance your license can be suspended for four years.
You will have to complete an SR-22 form to get your license back if it is suspended for driving without insurance.
You Can Be Charged with Driving Without Insurance in Someone Else’s Vehicle
It’s important that you understand that you can be charged with driving without insurance even if you are just borrowing a friend’s car. The vehicle’s owner must legally carry insurance and have proof of insurance in the vehicle to avoid this situation.
Before you get behind the wheel of a friend’s vehicle, or a rental vehicle, make sure that:
- You know where to find proof of insurance
- The insurance meets the minimum requirements in Pomona
Taking these steps can help you avoid a penalty for driving without insurance in Pomona.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Stand Up to Driving Without Insurance Charges
Many drivers are tempted to just accept a driving without insurance charge, figuring that they can just pay the fine and move on with their lives. However, if you are pulled over for driving without insurance again you can face much higher fines.
A driving without insurance lawyer can help you deal with a first or subsequent arrest. Your lawyer could get your charges dismissed by demonstrating that you should never have been stopped by a police officer. Your lawyer could also help if you actually had insurance at the time you were pulled over.
Speak with a Pomona Driving Without Insurance Lawyer Immediately
Get the help you need if you are arrested for driving without insurance by contacting the Simmrin Law Group. You can get a FREE initial case evaluation from our driving without insurance lawyers in Pomona right now.