You can face weapons charges for the misuse of firearms or other implements that can harm people in the Palmdale area. A conviction for a weapons charge can lead to serious repercussions, including time spent in jail or prison and high fines. You could also lose your ability to own a firearm if convicted.
The laws surrounding weapons charges can be confusing to understand. Attempting to navigate the court system on your own could result in harsher penalties. You can improve your defense by working with skilled weapons charges lawyers from Palmdale.
Build a Case with Palmdale Weapons Charges Lawyers
California treats weapons charges very seriously in the court system. The unlicensed sale of firearms is prohibited in the Palmdale area. Some individuals may also face felon with a firearm charges or federal gun crime charges.
Palmdale uses several other specific charges when prosecuting acts that involved weapons, including:
- Negligent Discharge
- Brandishing a Weapon
- Carrying a Concealed Weapon
- Carrying a Loaded Weapon
Weapons charges may be treated as misdemeanors or felonies by the court system in Palmdale. You could face penalties for the rest of your life if you are convicted. The sooner you get professional assistance from a criminal defense lawyer, the better your chances for courtroom success will be.
For a free legal consultation with a lawyer serving Palmdale, call (310) 896-2723
Unlicensed Sale of Firearms Charges
You can be charged with the unlicensed sale of firearms if you sell, lease, or transfer the ownership of a gun without the proper permissions. There are some exceptions to this law, but it can be risky to tell if they apply to you if you are not familiar with Palmdale’s legal codes.
You can be sentenced to 6 months in jail for each firearm you sell without a license. The act of selling a firearm with no license is considered a misdemeanor by the court system in California.
Criminal Defense Lawyer Near Me (310) 896-2723
Charges for Felon with a Firearm
Certain groups of people are not legally allowed to possess firearms in the state of California. If you are a member of any of these restricted groups and are found with a gun, you can be charged with a misdemeanor or a felony due to the felon with a firearm law. A felon with a firearm conviction can lead to 3 years of jail time.
Click to contact our Palmdale Criminal Defense Lawyers today
Negligent Discharge Laws
Palmdale defines negligent discharge as the act of firing a gun in a grossly negligent manner that could result in injury to someone else. You must purposefully shoot the gun in order for the act to be considered negligent discharge.
You can be charged with a misdemeanor or a felony for negligent discharge. A negligent discharge conviction can result in high fines and 3 years of jail time.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Brandishing a Deadly Weapon Charges in Palmdale
You can be charged with brandishing a deadly weapon if you take out or display a weapon in a manner that is angry or threatening. A brandishing a weapon charge also applies if a weapon is drawn during a fight and you do not intend to use it to protect yourself or someone else.
Many people immediately think of firearms when considering a charge for brandishing a deadly weapon, but you can face this charge for the use of many implements, including:
- Broken Glass
- Power Tools
The court system can treat brandishing a deadly weapon as a misdemeanor, aggravated misdemeanor, or a felony based on your situation. A conviction could result in 3 years of incarceration in a prison.
California’s Charges for Carrying a Firearm
You must adhere to strict guidelines while carrying a firearm in a public place in Palmdale. The state of California forbids you from:
- Carrying a Loaded Firearm
- Carrying a Concealed Firearm
You are not permitted to carry a loaded or concealed weapon while in public. Note that you can be charged with carrying a loaded firearm even if the gun will not fire. Any weapon that utilizes an explosive propellant is considered a firearm under these laws.
In some cases, you can avoid charges for carrying a loaded firearm or a concealed firearm by getting a permit. Without a concealed carry permit, you may be charged with a misdemeanor or a felony. You could end up spending 3 years in jail if convicted of carrying a concealed or loaded firearm.
Federal Gun Crimes in Palmdale
Some gun charges are handled at the federal level in the court system. If a firearm is used during the course of another felony, you may end up charged in a federal court. Federal charges usually come with higher penalties if you are convicted, including very high fines and jail time.
Defend Your Freedom with a Weapons Charges Lawyer
You could face the fallout from a weapons charge conviction for the rest of your life. The Simmrin Law Group has experience handling weapons charges on the state and federal level. We understand the challenges you’ll face and have a history of winning cases for our clients. Let us get started on your case by calling us today for a FREE consultation. You can reach us by calling (310) 997-4688 or by filling out the form on the right.
Call or text (310) 896-2723 or complete a Free Case Evaluation form