A violent crimes charge can lead to serious repercussions for your life going forward. If you are convicted of an act such as assault or battery, you could end up facing extraordinarily high fines and time spent in either jail or prison.
Working with the knowledgeable lawyers of the Simmrin Law Group can improve your chances of fighting these charges effectively. Our Palmdale-area violent crimes lawyers are trained to help you with every aspect of your criminal case.
Defend Against A Violent Crimes Charge in Palmdale
Your future can be endangered by any violent crime charge. Palmdale considers several acts to be violent crimes, including:
- Domestic Violence
Some violent crimes are seen as misdemeanors, while others will be charged as felonies, leading to more severe penalties. No matter what charge you are facing, a conviction can cost you financially and you may face incarceration.
You can improve your odds in court by getting in touch with a Palmdale criminal defense lawyer as soon as possible. A skilled lawyer with experience in the Palmdale court system can help you build a strong case so you can protect your future.
For a free legal consultation with a lawyer serving Palmdale, call (310) 896-2723
Assault Charges in Palmdale
Assault occurs when you willfully attempt to use force in a way that you know will likely cause bodily injury to another individual. There are four unique charges used to handle assault in the Palmdale legal system, each with different ramifications:
Misdemeanor assault is also referred to as simple assault. You can be charged with simple assault for hitting, shoving, or pushing another individual. You could spend 6 months in jail if convicted and could have to pay a $1,000 fine.
Assault with a Firearm
California considers assault with a firearm to be any injurious action that involves a gun. You do not have to shoot a firearm to face this charge. Hitting someone with a gun also qualifies as assault with a firearm, which can be seen as a misdemeanor or a felony.
Assault with a Deadly Weapon
You can be charged with assault with a deadly weapon if you act to injure someone with a weapon that cannot be defined as a firearm. Assault with a deadly weapon may be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony.
Assault by Means Likely to Produce Great Bodily Injury
An assault by means likely to produce great bodily injury charge can be applied if you engage in an act that will severely threaten another person’s well-being. A conviction can lead to 4 years in state prison.
Criminal Defense Lawyer Near Me (310) 896-2723
California’s Battery Charges
You can be charged with battery if you successfully use force or violence on another individual for no lawful reason. Unlike assault, you must actually hurt someone to be charged with battery. Battery is often charged as a misdemeanor but may be charged as a felony depending on your circumstances.
A battery conviction can lead to high fines and time spent in jail. You could also be banned from owning firearms for a decade. Get help defending yourself from battery charges by contacting a violent crimes lawyer right away.
Click to contact our Palmdale Criminal Defense Lawyers today
Domestic Violence as a Violent Crime
Domestic violence describes many acts that involve attempting to harm, hurting, or harassing an intimate partner or an ex. You can be charged with domestic violence for many reasons, such as if you:
- Damage property
- Hit or push someone
- Act in a way that is threatening
You may also face a domestic battery charge if you intentionally touch someone you are or were involved with in an offensive way. A charge for domestic battery can lead to $2,000 in fines and 1 year in jail.
Any domestic violence conviction can make it difficult for you to get custody of your children if you go through a divorce. You could also face challenges getting the spousal support you are entitled to if you have a domestic violence conviction on your record.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Charges of Murder in California
Murder is defined as causing the death of another individual with “malice aforethought.” You demonstrate “malice aforethought” if you intended to kill another person or if you knew the actions you were taking could lead to a death.
Palmdale utilizes two separate charges for murder trials:
First Degree Murder
Individuals commit first degree murder if they plan to kill someone and then carry out their plan. First degree murder charges carry the most severe penalties for any violent crime. You could end up facing the death penalty if convicted.
Second Degree Murder
Second degree murder takes place if you kill someone without planning it out. You will not be punished as harshly if convicted of second degree murder, but you could still end up spending your life in prison.
Any murder charge must be taken seriously because a conviction puts your entire future at risk. You can get the help and support you need by working with a Palmdale violent crimes lawyer.
Prepare to Fight a Violent Crimes Charge
You could end up spending your life in prison or even facing the death penalty if convicted of a violent crime in Palmdale. Your future could depend on getting excellent legal aid before it’s too late. The Simmrin Law Group’s violent crimes lawyers can help you defend yourself. Find out how we can help by contacting us today for a FREE consultation. You can start building your case by filling out the form on the right or calling us at (310) 997-4688.
Call or text (310) 896-2723 or complete a Free Case Evaluation form