You could be in serious trouble if you’re charged with driving under the influence (DUI) in Palmdale, CA. You might be expecting fines and points on your license, but a DUI conviction can result in a full license suspension, probation, and even time in jail.
Planning your defense right away can improve your odds of fighting a DUI charge. You can work with skilled DUI lawyers in Palmdale to start focusing on your case immediately. The Simmrin Law Group has years of experience successfully handling DUI cases. Let us put our skills to work for you, so you can move on with your life.
Handling DUI and Traffic Violation Charges in Palmdale
A DUI is only one criminal charge you could face for a traffic violation in Palmdale. California will also punish you for a number of traffic infractions, or acts that put points on your license and result in fines. You can also face criminal charges for some traffic violations, such as:
- Reckless Driving
- Driving on a Suspended License
- Driving on a Revoked License
Be aware that every infraction, misdemeanor, or felony related to a traffic violation will add points to your license. Once you reach a certain number of points in a set period of time, your license can be suspended. Your license will be suspended in Palmdale if you accrue:
- 4 points over the course of 1 year.
- 6 points over the course of 2 years.
- 8 points over the course of 3 years.
You can protect yourself from traffic violation charges by working with a criminal defense lawyer who understands the court system in California. Don’t risk your ability to get around by waiting to build your case.
For a free legal consultation with a lawyer serving Palmdale, call (310) 928-9347
DUI Charges in the Palmdale Area
You can be charged with a DUI if you are over the age of 21 and your blood alcohol content (BAC) is found to be 0.08% or higher. Drivers under the age of 21 face harsher requirements and can be charged even if their BAC is only 0.01%.
DUI laws are not only strict, they also come with severe penalties. You will likely be forced to pay high fines and you could be sentenced to jail time if you face a DUI conviction. Additionally, you can immediately lose your license if convicted of driving under the influence.
You can also lose your license for refusing to submit to a chemical test. Police officers sometimes use these tests if they believe you to be driving under the influence. You must comply with the procedure or your license can be suspended for 1 year.
Facing a DUI charge on your own might feel overwhelming. Working with a highly-trained lawyer familiar with the strategies of Palmdale prosecutors can take some of the stress out of your legal battle.
Criminal Defense Lawyer Near Me (310) 928-9347
Traffic Infraction Laws in California
Traffic infractions are punishable acts that are not treated as a criminal offense. They are usually minor mistakes that occur while you drive, such as speeding, misusing a carpool lane, running a stop sign, or driving while you don’t have insurance.
You will most likely receive a ticket from a law enforcement officer if you are caught committing a traffic infraction. However, you can also be ticketed by a red light camera. Red light cameras record drivers at traffic signals and will generate tickets if someone runs a light. You must treat red light cameras seriously, as you will face serious consequences if you ignore their tickets.
Most traffic infractions result in fines of up to $450. Depending on the exact nature of the infraction, you could also have your car impounded. Additionally, traffic infractions usually result in one point being added to your license. This means that if you incur enough traffic infractions, you could lose your license.
Palmdale’s Reckless Driving Charges
Reckless driving is defined as driving with willful disregard for the safety of other people. This umbrella term can cover many acts, including:
- Committing Road Rage
- Driving the Wrong Way
- Swerving Across Lanes
- Excessive Speeding
You will be charged with a misdemeanor if you are accused of reckless driving in Palmdale. This means that a conviction will result in 2 points added to your license. You can also face fines of $1,000 and jail time of up to 90 days if you are convicted.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Charges for Driving on a Suspended or Revoked License
You can face criminal misdemeanor charges if you are caught driving on a license that is suspended or revoked. You must know that your license has been either revoked or suspended to face this charge, which can have severe consequences.
Your charges will depend on why your license was suspended or revoked to begin with. Regardless of your circumstances, you may end up spending 6 months in jail and facing fines of up to $1,000. You will also have 2 points added to your license if you are convicted.
Any misdemeanor traffic violation can impact your life in unexpected ways. You can improve your chances in the legal system by working with a skilled criminal defense lawyer who has a history of winning cases.
Build Your Case with a DUI Lawyer in Palmdale
A conviction for a traffic violation can lead to fines, jail time, and the loss of your license. Don’t wait to work on your defense until it’s too late. The Simmrin Law Group’s DUI lawyers have experience handling Palmdale prosecutors. We can provide you with expert advice and guidance through every step of your case. Get the ball rolling right now by contacting us for a FREE consultation. You can fill out the form on the right or call us at (310) 997-4688 to start getting the help you need.