Legally, drivers in Lynwood, CA are not permitted to operate a vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Drivers who are accused of driving under the influence (DUI) can face a number of harsh penalties, including:
- Jail Time
- License Suspension
Fortunately, you can get professional help on your side if you are dealing with DUI charges. The Simmrin Law Group can offer you legal advice. You can reach our DUI lawyers in Lynwood today to get help building a solid defense for your case.
DUI Charges in Lynwood: Criminal Charges
Driving under the influence is considered a criminal act in California. There are actually a number of different criminal charges that can be used to prosecute DUI charges, including:
- California Vehicle Code Section 23140: Under 21 DUI With Blood Alcohol Content Between 0.05-0.07 Percent
- California Vehicle Code Section 23152(b): Driving With A Blood Alcohol Content Of 0.08 Percent Or Higher
- California Vehicle Code Section 23152(f): Driving Under the Influence of Drugs
Drivers may face these charges after being stopped by a police officer for erratic driving or after a motor vehicle accident. Police officers may ask drivers to:
- Complete a Chemical Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) Test
- Perform Field Sobriety Tests
You may be legally allowed to refuse these tests in some situations. However, you should be aware that you must perform tests requested by a police officer if you are:
- Under 21
- On DUI Probation
- Legally Arrested
Refusal to comply with a legally requested test can lead to additional criminal charges in Lynwood. You can find out more about your legal rights after a DUI stop by contacting a criminal defense lawyer in Lynwood today.
For a free legal consultation with a lawyer serving Lynwood, call (310) 928-9347
DUI Charges in Lynwood: Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) Hearing
You will not only need to face a criminal trial if you are charged with a DUI in Lynwood. You may also need to take care of a hearing with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). This hearing can be used to determine whether or not your driver’s license should be suspended.
You will have 10 days after a DUI arrest to request a DMV hearing. Drivers who do not request a hearing can automatically have their license suspended. Get help scheduling and handling your DMV hearing by contacting the Simmrin Law Group Today.
Criminal Defense Lawyer Near Me (310) 928-9347
DUI Charges in Lynwood: Penalties for a Conviction
DUI convictions in Lynwood can have very harsh consequences. Additionally, each time a driver is convicted of a DUI the penalties can grow more severe. For example, a first-time DUI conviction can lead to:
- Fines: Up to $2,000
- Jail Time: Up to six Months
- License Suspension: Up to one Year
A second DUI conviction increases these penalties to:
- Fines: Up to $2,500
- Jail Time: Up to one Year
- License Suspension: Up to two Years
Note that these penalties are only for basic DUI charges where no one is injured. If another driver, a pedestrian, or a passenger is injured due to a DUI accident, the penalties can increase further and may lead to:
- Fines: Up to $5,000
- Prison Time: Up to four Years
- License Revocation: Up to five Years
The penalties can be even more severe if someone lost their life in a DUI accident.
DUI Charges in Lynwood: Getting Professional Help
You can see that the penalties for a DUI conviction can be incredibly severe. Fortunately, you can get legal help in your corner by contacting the Simmrin Law Group. A DUI lawyer in Lynwood can offer you advice throughout your legal battle.
A legal professional may be able to weaken the case against you by demonstrating the unreliability of chemical BAC tests. These tests can return false positives and have a reputation for being disproved if your blood is retested.
Your lawyer may be able to secure you lessened charges in some cases. A dry reckless charge could be offered as part of a plea bargain. You could still face fines and some jail time if you accept a dry reckless plea bargain, but the offense will not be considered priorable.
A DUI lawyer can also fight aggressively for you in the courtroom. You need dedicated, professional support during your criminal trial and DMV hearing, so contact the Simmrin Law Group now.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Defend Yourself with a Lynwood DUI Lawyer
Facing DUI charges on your own can lead to a conviction, fines, and jail time. Get the help you need to stand up to these accusations by contacting a DUI lawyer in Lynwood right now. You can reach the Simmrin Law Group for a FREE case evaluation today.
Start building your defense by completing our online contact form, or calling (310) 997-4688.