The professionals at the Simmrin Law Group are here to help if you are facing weapons charges in Chula Vista. Our team can provide you with the legal guidance you need from the time you are arrested. We can help if you are charged with:
- Carrying a concealed weapon
- Carrying a loaded or unloaded firearm
- Selling firearms without a license
- Brandishing a weapon
- Negligent discharge
Start getting the assistance you need to successfully handle these charges in court by contacting our weapons charges lawyers in Chula Vista today. We’re ready to begin working on your defense right now.
Carrying a Concealed Weapon Is Illegal in Chula Vista
The state of California forbids most people from carrying a concealed weapon while in public. This means you can face criminal charges for concealing a firearm or certain bladed weapons on your person or in your vehicle.
You could face harsh penalties if you are convicted of carrying a concealed weapon, including:
- Fines of up to $10,000
- Incarceration of up to three years
Speak with a criminal defense lawyer in Chula Vista if you are accused of carrying a concealed weapon. Your lawyer may be able to help you deal with these charges, especially if you have a valid concealed carry permit (CCP).
Openly Carrying a Firearm Can Lead to Criminal Charges
Carrying a concealed weapon is against the law in California. It is also against the law to openly carry a firearm. You could face criminal charges in Chula Vista if you carry a firearm that is loaded or unloaded, even if it isn’t operational. The state restricts individuals from carrying:
- Other weapons that fire a projectile using combustion
A conviction for openly carrying a weapon can result in fines of up to $10,000 and up to three years of time behind bars. There are exceptions to this law, especially if you are a member of the armed forces, the police, or if you are employed in certain other security-focused careers.
Chula Vista Regulates the Sale of Firearms
You are legally required to have a license to sell, lease, or otherwise transfer the ownership of firearms in the state of California. If you engage in these activities without a license, you could face:
- Fines of up to $1,000
- Jail time of up to six months
You should be aware that these penalties apply to each firearm sold, leased, or transferred without a license. That means that if you sell two guns, for example, the fines and jail time for a conviction could double.
Charges for Brandishing a Weapon in Chula Vista
We have discussed carrying weapons and selling firearms thus far in this article. You can also face criminal charges if you use a weapon in a way that threatens or endangers other people. A brandishing a weapon charge may apply if:
- You draw, display, or take out a weapon
- In a way that is threatening or aggressive
- While you are around other people
- While you are in an argument or a fight
Any tool that could cause serious bodily injury may be considered a deadly weapon in Chula Vista. A conviction for brandishing a deadly weapon could result in up to three years of time in prison.
You Can Face Criminal Charges for Negligent Discharge
Individuals who purposefully discharge a firearm in a way that is grossly negligent can be charged with negligent discharge. Generally, you should only face this charge if you intentionally shoot a gun in a way that could:
- Injure someone else
- Kill someone else
You could be fined $10,000 and incarcerated for up to three years if you are convicted of negligent discharge in Chula Vista.
Additional Weapons Charges in Chula Vista
We have discussed many of the most common weapons charges in Chula Vista. You should be aware that you can face criminal charges just for possessing a firearm in your private home in some situations. This is because California’s Felony with a Firearm law makes it illegal to possess a gun if you are:
- Convicted of a felony
- Convicted of some misdemeanors
- Suffering from a mental illness
- Addicted to certain substances
A gun crimes lawyer in Chula Vista can help you go over your options if you are charged under the Felon with a Firearm law. Contact us now to learn more.
Get Help from a Chula Vista Weapons Charges Lawyer
You can speak with the Simmrin Law Group today if you are facing weapons charges in Chula Vista. You can get a FREE initial case evaluation to discuss your legal options with a weapons charges lawyer in Chula Vista right now.
Contacting us is easy. Just complete our online contact form or call (310) 997-4688.